The AIA has named the winners of the 2011 Institute Honor Awards for architecture, interior architecture, and urban and regional design. The Twenty-Five Year Award, for a work of enduring excellence, goes to the John Hancock Tower in Boston, designed by Henry Cobb, FAIA, of I.M. Pei & Partners (now Pei Cobb Freed & Partners).

The Honor Award for Architecture jury, chaired by David Miller, FAIA, of Seattle’s Miller Hull Partnership, selected 10 projects for recognition. The diverse roster of winners is dominated by public and campus buildings, including four museum projects.
• AT&T Performing Arts Center Dee and Charles Wyly Theater, Dallas, REX | OMA (ARCHITECT coverage)
• The Barnard College Diana Center, New York, Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism (ARCHITECT coverage)
• Ford Assembly Building, Richmond, Calif., Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects
• Horizontal Skyscraper Vanke Center, Shenzhen, China, Steven Holl Architects
• New Acropolis Museum, Athens, Bernard Tschumi Architects (ARCHITECT coverage)
• North Carolina Museum of Art, Raleigh, N.C., Thomas Phifer and Partners (ARCHITECT coverage)
• One Jackson Square, New York, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
• San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Rooftop Garden, San Francisco, Jensen Architects/Jensen & Macy Architects (ARCHITECT coverage)
• U.S. Land Port of Entry, Warroad, Minn., Julie Snow Architects (ARCHITECT coverage)
• University of Michigan Museum of Art, Ann Arbor, Mich., Allied Works Architecture

The Interior Architecture award recipients include several adaptive reuse and historic preservation projects, as well as academic and institutional interiors. The jury, led by John Ronan, AIA, commended the winners for innovative fabrication and material use.
• The Academy of Music, Philadelphia, KlingStubbins
• Alchemist, Miami Beach, Rene Gonzalez Architect
• Armstrong Oil and Gas, Denver, Lake | Flato Architects
• Conga Room, Los Angeles, Belzberg Architects
• FIDM San Diego Campus, San Diego, Clive Wilkinson Architects
• John E. Jaqua Center for Student Athletes, Eugene, Ore., ZGF Architects
• Moving Picture Company, Santa Monica, Calif., Patrick Tighe Architecture
• The Power House (restoration/renovation), St. Louis, Cannon Design
• Registrar Recorder County Clerk Elections Operations Center, Santa Fe Springs, Calif., Lehrer Architects
• Vancouver Convention Centre West, Vancouver, LMN Architects
• Washington Square Park Dental, New York, Montalba Architects

The Regional and Urban Design Honor Award winners include urban plans and design guidelines at a variety of scales, from the metropolis to the American small town. The jury, chaired by Daniel Williams, FAIA, recognized projects that simultaneously build community and mitigate environmental impact.
• Beijing CBD East Expansion, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
• Chicago Central Area DeCarbonization Plan, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture (ARCHITECT coverage)
• Community | City: Between Building and Landscape, Affordable Sustainable Infill for Smoketown, Kentucky, Marilys R. Nepomechie Architect and Marta Canaves Interior Design
• Gowanus Canal Sponge Park, New York, dlandstudio
• Low Impact Development: A Design Manual for Urban Areas, University of Arkansas Community Design Center
• Townscaping an Automobile-Oriented Fabric: Farmington, Arkansas, University of Arkansas Community Design Center

The awards will be presented at the AIA annual convention in New Orleans this May. Images of all the winners can be found at the AIA's 2011 Institute Honor Awards page on Flickr.