AIA Honor Awards


2015 AIA Honor Award Winners

Moshe Safdie wins the 2015 AIA Gold Medal

The Israeli-born, Massachusetts-based architect is being awarded for his lasting impact on architecture.

The Massachusetts-based architect is being awarded for this lasting impact on the industry.


Ehrlich Architects Wins the 2015 Architecture Firm Award

Ehrlich Architects, known for its Multicultural Modernism style, has won the 52nd Architecture Firm Award, the highest honor bestowed by...

Topaz Medallion: Peter Eisenman

Currently an architecture professor at Yale, Eisenman has taught at universities around the world, establishing himself as a world-renowned...


Edward C. Kemper Award: Edward Mazria

A leader in the battle against climate change, Mazria is founder of the 2030 Challenge, which seeks to incrementally reduce fossil fuel...

in the background, rural studio's 2012 greensboro (ala.) boys and girls club.

Whitney M. Young Jr. Award: Rural Studio

The Auburn University offshoot designs sustainable community buildings and homes for its home of Hale County, Alabama, one of the nation’s...


2014 AIA Honor Award Winners

herald examiner, location: los angeles, ca, architect: julia morgan, client; architect magazine

AIA Gold Medal: Julia Morgan

Julia Morgan's quietly revolutionary architecture—a blend of Beaux-Arts and Bay Area influences—is finally earning its due.


Architecture Firm Award: Eskew+Dumez+Ripple

With a diverse body of work defined by a keen sensitivity to place, EDR has helped New Orleans rebuild from Katrina.

Twenty-Five Year Award: DC Metro

As grand as it was adaptable, Harry Weese’s station design helped transform Washington into a modern metropolis.


Institute Honor Awards: Architecture

The AIA honored 11 entries in the architecture category in 2014, including projects by...

Institute Honor Awards: Interior Architecture

The nine honorees for the 2014 Interior Architecture awards include Architecture...

Institute Honor Awards: Regional and Urban Design

The AIA honored six projects in regional and urban design, including ones by Skidmore...


Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Ivenue Love-Stanley, FAIA, principal, Stanley, Love-Stanley

Topaz Medallion

Harrison Fraker, Assoc. AIA, professor of architecture and urban design, UC Berkeley

2014 AIA Honor Awards: Young Architects Award

The 18 winners of this year's Young Architects Awards.


Edward C. Kemper Award

Fredric Bell, FAIA, executive director of AIA New York

Thomas Jefferson Awards

Carole J. Olshavsky, FAIA, former deputy director of the Ohio Public Works Division;...

Associates Award

Ashley W. Clark, Assoc. AIA, marketing manager for LandDesign; Julie Ann Engh, Assoc...


Institute Honors for Collaborative Achievement

ACE Mentor Program, National Building Museum, Post-Sandy Initiative, and Rick Smith

Julia Morgan Posthumously Awarded the AIA 2014 Gold Medal

More than a half century after her death, Morgan becomes the first woman architect to...

Eskew+Dumez+Ripple Wins the AIA 2014 Architecture Firm Award

Days after the death of founding partner Allen Eskew, the firm wins the Institute's...


Fredric Bell Awarded the AIA 2014 Kemper Award

Known for his work with New York's Center for Architecture, Bell is honored for his...

Harrison Fraker Receives the AIA/ASCA 2014 Topaz Medallion Award

The AIA and ASCA award Harrison Fraker, Assoc. AIA, the Topaz Medallion for his...

Ivenue Love-Stanley Wins the AIA 2014 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Ivenue Love-Stanley, an Atlanta architect and civic entrepreneur, is being recognized...


2013 Gold Medal


The Metamorphosis of Thom Mayne

Gold Medal winner Thom Mayne has made the transition from enfant terrible to elder statesman without losing his grip on surreality.


2013 Architecture Firm Award


Inside Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects

Tod Williams and Billie Tsien have built their Architecture Firm Award-winning practice not on a signature style, but on signature values.


2013 25-Year Award


How the de Menils and Their Art Museum Changed Houston

The astonishing architecture of the 25 Year Award-Winning Menil Collection is a monument to Dominique and John de Menil, two of the great...


2013 AIA Awards


AIA Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Harvey B. Gantt, FAIA, principal, Gantt Huberman Architects


AIA Topaz Medallion

Robert Greenstreet, Intl. Assoc. AIA, dean, School of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee (UWM)


AIA Edward C. Kemper Award

John D. Anderson, FAIA, Anderson Mason Dale Architects


AIA Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture

Michael Pyatok, FAIA, principal and founder, Pyatok Architects, and Ginnie Cooper, chief librarian and executive director, District of...


AIA Young Architect Award

The 15 winners of this year's Young Architects Awards.


AIA Associates Award

Jessica Sheridan, G. Martin Moeller Jr., and Patrick Thomas Weber are honored.


AIA Collaborative Achievement Award, Palm Springs Modern Committee, and DC Preservation League are...


2012 Gold Medal


Steven Holl, Agent of Enlightenment

2012 AIA Gold Medalist Steven Holl has never compromised on his design...

2012 Architecture Firm of the Year



This Minneapolis-based firm is the 2012 AIA Archtitecture Firm of the Year.

2012 25-Year Award


Frank Gehry's House

This year's 25-Year Award goes to this famous, and misunderstood, house, as fondly...


2011 Gold Medal


Gold Medal: Fumihiko Maki

The 2011 AIA Gold Medalist, Fumihiko Maki, invites ARCHITECT into the studio of Maki and Associates.


2011 Architecture Firm Award


Architecture Firm Award: BNIM

The Kansas City firm does not just advocate for building green, but has come to drive the sustainable-design movement.



Twitter Facebook LinkedIn RSS pinterest