The American Institute of Architects announced today that Hans Butzer, AIA, is this year's recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture. The award program, which began in 1992, "recognizes excellence in architectural advocacy and achievement."

Hans Butzer is a director of the Oklahoma City practice Butzer Architects and Urbanism. He holds a B.Arch. from the University of Texas and a M.Arch. from Harvard University. The AIA notes: "Butzer is a gifted and accomplished architect who has built his career in Oklahoma City by dedicating himself to improving the built landscape and enriching the fundamental civic dignity of the city."

The jury for the 2016 included: jury chair Drew White, FAIA, of Indianapolis-based Axis Architecture + Interiors; Rick Bell, FAIA, of the City of New York's Department of Design and Construction; Sarah Dirsa, AIA, of KG&D Architects in Mount Kisco, N.Y.; Daniel Feil, FAIA, of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission based in Washington, D.C.; and Jennifer Penner, Assoc. AIA, of Albuquerque's Studio Southwest Architects.

Read ARCHITECT's past coverage of the Thomas Jefferson Awards for Public Architecture, as well as complete coverage of the 2016 AIA Honor Awards.