The National Building Museum's Honor Award program, now in its 24th year, celebrates the people, groups, and companies that have made important contributions to the built environment. For 2010, the museum has named three organizations: Perkins+Will, the first architecture firm to receive the award; New Orleans Habitat Musicians' Village founders Harry Connick Jr., Branford Marsalis, Ann Marie Wilkins, and Jim Pate; and the U.S. Department of Energy's Solar Decathlon. 

Perkins+Will, one of the world's largest architecture firms, was selected for its legacy of socially relevant structures for civic, education, healthcare, government, and private-sector clients. The founders of the Habitat Musicians' Village were chosen for their creation of a multigenerational village to house musicians in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, helping preserve and promote New Orleans' cultural traditions. And the Solar Decathlon was recognized for its commitment to educating architects, engineers, and builders—as well as the general public—about environmentally responsible, energy-efficient design.

Chase Rynd, the Building Museum's executive director and president, said of the honorees in a press release, "Over the past few years we’ve witnessed many challenges in our society. We wanted to salute those who see these challenges as civic opportunities to innovate and build places that are inclusive, inspiring, and sustaining."

The museum will present the Honor Awards to the recipients at a May 11 event. To learn more, visit