AIA Arkansas (AIA|AR) have chosen to honor five projects in its 2015 Design Awards. The program selects works of distinction by its members and bring public attention to outstanding examples of architecture. Projects can earn one of three levels of awards: honor awards are granted to projects for overall design excellence, merit awards are granted to projects worthy of recognition because of their design quality, and citation awards are awarded to unbuilt projects in recognition of creativity and/or design possibilities. This year, three merit awards and one citation award were given out.

In addition, AIA|AR invites its members to vote on the Members' Choice Award. This year also featured the inaugural People's Choice Award, intended to increase public awareness of the level of design excellence produced by Arkansas architects. The Mid America Science Museum Skywalk by Little Rock, Ark.–based Wittenberg, Delony & Davidson took home both of these.

The 2015 jury included Dan Brown, AIA, of Hufft Projects; Brad Sattwerwhite, AIA, co-founder and principal of KEM Studio; and Josh Shelton, AIA, principal at El Dorado.

To view the winning projects, click on the project name to jump to ARCHITECT'S Project Gallery.

Merit Awards

Timothy Hursley

Mood Ring House, in Fayetteville, Ark., by SILO AR+D

Timothy Hursley

Srygley Poolhouse, in Springdale, Ark., by Marlon Blackwell Architects

Timothy Hursley

University of Arkansas University Housing Office, in Fayetteville, Ark., by Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects

Citation Award

courtesy of AIA Arkansas

All Saints Episcopal Church, in Bentonville, Ark., by Marlon Blackwell Architects

Members' Choice and People's Choice Awards

Dero Sanford

Mid America Science Museum Skywalk, in Hot Springs, Ark., by Wittenberg, Deloney & Davidson