Six architectural firms have been selected as recipients of the 2011-2014 Intern Development Program (IDP) Outstanding Firm Award, a recognition jointly bestowed by the American Institute of Architects and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. Launched in 1976, the Intern Development Program provides mentoring, resources, and benchmarks to assist interns as they make the transition to licensed professionals. Every three years, an IDP jury recognizes firms which have shown dedication to their interns across 12 categories—including mentoring and supplementary education opportunities—with the IDP Firm Award. The IDP Outstanding Firm Award recognizes practices that also display a commitment to innovation.

The 2011-2014 IDP Outstanding Firm Award recipients are the following: BLDD Architects; BRR Architecture; Clark Nexsen; Eskew Dumez Ripple; Scott & Gable Architects; and Seay, Seay, and Litchfield. The IDP has also named 10 recipients of the 2011-2014 IDP Firm Award: Blitch Knevel Architects, Darden Architects, Trivers Associates, the Atlanta, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Phoenix, and Bentonville, Ark., offices of BRR Architecture, and the Austin, Texas, and San Antonio offices of O’Connell Robertson. The firms will be recognized at the annual AIA National Convention in Washington, D.C. in May.