Every three years since its creation in 1977, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture has celebrated the built environment in places where Muslims have a significant presence. For the 2004–2007 competition cycle, 343 projects were submitted, and the jury chose nine recipients, shown here.

The jury for the triennial award's 10th cycle: Homi Bhabha, professor at Harvard University; Okwui Enwezor, curator and dean at the San Francisco Art Institute; Homa Farjadi, principal of Farjadi Architects; Sahel Al-Hiyari, principal of Sahel Al-Hiyari and Partners; artist Shirazeh Houshiary; Rashid Khalidi, professor at Columbia University; Brigitte Shim, partner at Shim Sutcliffe Architects; Han Tümertekin, principal of Mimarlar Tasarim Danismanlik; and Kenneth Yeang, principal of Llewelyn Davies Yeang and Hamzah & Yeang.

More information on each of the winning projects can be found at www.akdn.org.