Gensler founder and chairman M. Arthur Gensler Jr. has been named the recipient of the Construction Specifications Institute's 2008 Michelangelo Award. For an individual who has given distinguished and innovative service to the built environment, the award will be presented at CSI's trade show (formerly known as the CSI Convention, now rebranded as Construct2008, owned by ARCHITECT parent company Hanley Wood, and taking place June 3–6 in Las Vegas).

The World Monuments Fund has awarded $50,000 to the Grosse Point Library to help efforts to save the midcentury Michigan building, currently slated for demolition. Designed by Marcel Breuer and opened in 1953, the library was placed on the WMF's 2008 watch list of the 100 Most Endangered Sites.

The short list of finalists for the position of dean of Georgia Tech's College of Architecture has been announced: Alan Balfour, from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Yehuda E. Kalay, from the University of California, Berkeley; Brenda Case Scheer, from the University of Utah; and Bruce Stiftel, from Florida State University.

Anne T. Sullivan joins structural engineering and design firm Thornton Tomasetti as vice president in charge of establishing a historic preservation practice sector in the company's Chicago office. Sullivan is familiar with the firm's strategies: She has been involved in a number of Thornton Tomasetti projects over the last 15 years, including at her most recent post as a senior associate with Johnson Lasky Architects in Chicago.

Baton Rouge, La.'s Trahan Architects has been selected to design a new museum in Natchitoches, La. The planned 27,500-square-foot museum, part of the state museum system, will house the North Louisiana Regional History Museum and the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame. The firm expects to complete the design phase by the end of the year.

Princeton University has created the Center for Architecture, Urbanism, and Infrastructure at the School of Architecture. Led by professor Mario Gandelsonas, the center will support collective research and hold symposia, conferences, working sessions, and public dialogues.

April has been dubbed “National Landscape Architecture Month” by the American Society of Landscape Architects. The organization will mark the occasion with activities directed to schoolchildren and their teachers at local chapters across the country with the common theme of “Discover Careers in Landscape Architecture.”

The United States Institute for Theatre Technology has announced that William Rawn of Boston-based William Rawn Associates will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Architectural Design of Theatres, in recognition of his work on projects such as the Seiji Ozawa Hall at Tanglewood and the '62 Center for Theatre and Dance at Williams College. This is the second time the award has been given since its inception in 1998.

Syracuse University School of Architecture dean Mark Robbins is taking on new duties as the school's senior adviser for architecture and urban initiatives. Robbins' role will encompass projects in the city and on campus, including involvement in architect selection, design decisions, and working with community groups.

Tsoi/Kobus & Associates has announced the promotion of two principals and six associate principals. TK&A's two new principals are Greg Luongo and Choy Ng. Rebecca Boylan, Jonathan Cohen, Matt Cotton, Alan Fried, Katy Tassmer, and Kate Wendt are the Cambridge, Mass., firm's new associate principals.