Creative Commons License with Flickr user Gerhard Jörén / World Bank​

The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) selected architectural programs at Mississippi State University in Mississippi State, Philadelphia University, and the University of Florida in Gainesville as recipients of the 2015 NCARB Award for the Integration of Practice and Education​ for their curricula that blend academic and real-world experience.

NCARB awarded $30,048.44​ to Mississippi State University's College of Architecture, Art, and Design for its proposal, “Expanding the Agency of Architects,” which exposes students to different practice management techniques through the school's partnership with a local community design center. The students will study sustainability and social impact design, and apply what they learn to a ​project in the Mississippi Delta.

Philadelphia University’s College of Architecture and the Built Environment will receive $34,208 for its proposal that explores the application of textile composites in building envelopes. The project involves the study of emerging technologies and new materials in an interdisciplinary design studio.

NCARB will also grant $35,000 to the University of Florida's School of Architecture for the development of a laboratory that will enable students to work with practitioners and manufacturers to learn how materials influence the structural soundness and safety of their designs. 

To be eligible for NCARB’s award, architecture schools must be located in one of the council’s 54 member board​ jurisdictions and be a program accredited with the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or a candidate for NAAB accreditation. Applicants had to submit two letters of commitment confirming the implementation of their proposal if they received an NCARB award: one from the institution and one from a non-faculty architect willing to contribute to the project. Proposals also included a project summary, a description of the intended outcomes, and a budget.

This year's jury was led by Marvin Malecha, FAIA, and included Caryn J. Brause, AIA; John Klai II, FAIA; Robert McKinney, AIA; Raul Rivera-Ortiz, AIA; Mike Rodriguez, FAIA; and Katherine Schwennsen, FAIA.