The Royal British Institute of Architects (RIBA) revealed the six buildings that are in the running for the 2016 Stirling Prize, formerly known as the Building of the Year Award. Now in its 21st iteration, the program, named after the late British architect James Stirling, began in 1996 with an aim to recognize architectural excellence in the United Kingdom. Projects are judged on "a range of criteria including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction," according to RIBA. The winner of the 2016 RIBA Stirling Prize will be announced on Oct. 6.

Last year's winner was the Burntwood School, by London-based Allford Hall Monaghan Morris (AHMM). The project, awarded for its innovative approach to educational design, added six new faculty buildings and two cultural buildings for 2,000 pupils and 200 staff to an existing Modernist campus.

This year's judges comprise Patrik Schumacher (chair), partner and director at Zaha Hadid Architects; Paul Monaghan, director of AHMM; Roisin Heneghan, cofounder and director of the Irish-German practice Heneghan Peng; Mike Hussey, founder of property investment and development group Almacantar; and Rachel Whiteread CBE, artist.

Learn more about this year's six shortlisted buildings on ARCHITECT's Project Gallery:

charles hosea

Outhouse, Loyn & Co Architects (also longlisted for the 2016 RIBA House of the Year Award).

Iwan Baan

Blavatnik School of Government, Herzog & de Meuron.

Keith Hunter

City of Glasgow College, Riverside Campus, Michael Laird Architects and Reiach and Hall Architects.

Hélène Binet

Newport Street Gallery, Caruso St. John Architects.

James Brittain

Weston Library, WilkinsonEyre.

Alex de Rijke

Trafalgar Place, dRMM Architects.