Related Topics


Other stories by Edward Keegan

  • Q&A: David Brussat

    The longtime architecture critic of "The Providence Journal," a champion of traditional design, isn’t afraid to assail modernist orthodoxy.

  • Bonding With the Client, Before Starting on a Design

    Archimania likes to start new projects with a "visioning charrette." But these sessions aren't about architecture. They're about knowledge—and trust.

  • Profitable: Epstein

    The Chicago firm is buoyed by government work and architect of record services.

  • Funds for Lean Times

    A line of credit helps cover your firm’s essential short-term financing needs. (In other words, find another way to pay for that sweet new plotter.)

  • John Carl Warnecke Dies at 91

    John Carl Warnecke, whose architecture firm was once the nation's largest and designed notable buildings in Washington, D.C., died on April 17 at his California Ranch.

  • Institute of Classical Architecture Announces 2010 Arthur Ross Awards

    The ICA&CA has announced five award winners from among 110 submissions for the group's annual Arthur Ross Awards. In addition, a special honor has been given to Calder Loth for public service in historic preservation.

  • Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center

    The Illinois Holocaust Museum in Skokie, Ill.—a Chicago suburb that is home to a large number of survivors—is the closest Tigerman has come to building an overtly religious structure based on his interpretation of his Jewish upbringing.

  • Receive a Tax Deduction for Your Energy-Efficient Projects

    Section 179D of the Internal Revenue Code, which allows a deduction for the cost of building energy-efficient commercial buildings, could benefit your firm's bottom line.

  • 2010 Congress for the New Urbanism Charter Awards Announced

    Eight projects selected from among 90 entries have been chosen to receive 2010 Congress for the New Urbanism (CNU) Charter Awards. Winners were selected in three professional categories—(1) The Region: Metropolis, City, and Town; (2) Neighborhood, District, and Corridor; (3) The Block, Street, and...

  • Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa Awarded 2010 Pritzker Prize

    The 2010 Pritzker Prize has been awarded to the Japanese architecture duo of Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, who lead the Japanese firm SANAA.