Related Topics


Other stories by Peter James

  • AIA Announces 2011 Institute Honor Awards

    The AIA has named the winners of the 2011 Institute Honor Awards for architecture, interior architecture, and urban and regional design, and the Twenty-Five Year Award winner.

  • DLR Group Acquires KKE Architects

    Omaha, Neb.-based DLR Group has acquired KKE Architects, a firm with offices in Minnesota, California, Nevada, and Arizona, in an effort to grow its U.S. business and to enhance its capabilities in China.

  • Snøhetta Tapped to Design SFMOMA Expansion

    The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art has picked the Norwegian firm Snøhetta design a 160,000-square-foot expansion of its distinctive Mario Botta–designed building.

  • AIA Selects 10 Firms for 2010 Small Project Awards

    The AIA has named the winners of the 2010 Small Projects Awards. The awards, now in their sixth year, recognize practitioners who engage in small-scale design work.

  • Engineers Without Borders Selected for 2010 Turner Prize

    Engineers Without Borders-USA, a nonprofit that partners engineering students and professionals with local communities around the world, has been tapped to receive the National Building Museum's 2010 Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction Technology.

  • U.S. Mayors Endorse Green Building Code

    On June 14, the U.S. Conference of Mayors endorsed the International Green Construction Code, a new, comprehensive green building code authored by the International Code Council.

  • National Trust Names Stephanie Meeks as Eighth President

    The National Trust for Historic Preservation has named Stephanie Meeks, a nonprofit executive with experience in fundraising and environmental conservation, as its next president.

  • Westlake Reed Leskosky and Lehrer Architects Form Business Alliance

    Westlake Reed Leskosky, a Cleveland-based firm of more than 150 people, is joining forces with Lehrer Architects, a boutique design practice in Los Angeles, in what they describe as a “strategic alliance.”