Architecture of Democracy

1681, Old Ship Meetinghouse, Hingham, Mass.

1727, Townhouse, Marblehead, Mass.

1730, Northampton County Courthouse, Northampton, Va.

1749, Courthouse, Plymouth, Mass.

1750, Nathan Hale Schoolhouse, East Haddam, Conn.

1767, John Pierpont House, New Haven, Conn.

1767, Chowan County Courthouse, Edenton, N.C.

1770, Meetinghouse, Germantown, Pa.

1771, Townhouse, Windham, Conn.

1831, Rear view, Fluvanna County Courthouse, Palmyra, Va.

1850, Schoolhouse, Rome, Ga.

1877, Hinsdale County Courthouse, Lake City, Colo.

1796, Burlington County Courthouse, Mount Holly, N.J.

1799, Russell County Courthouse, Dickensonville, Va.

1830, Caroline County Courthouse, Bowling Green, Va.

1893, City Hall, Spring City, Utah

1894, Schoolhouse, Stone Lagoon, Calif.

1901, Courthouse, Eagle, Alaska

East Façade of the Louvre (1667–1674), Paris, designed by Claude Perrault, and the Octagon House (1798–1800), Washington, D.C., designed by Dr. William Thornton.

Castle Howard (1699–1712), Yorkshire, designed by Sir John Vanbrugh.

Coleshill (1650–1662), Berkshire, designed by Sir Roger Pratt.

President’s House (1732) at the College of William & Mary, Williamsburg, Va.

Townhouse (1720–1750), Wilmington, Del.

Join the Discussion

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting

Close X