Albert Barnes began collecting art in 1912 and collaborated with Paul Philippe Cret to design a limestone Beaux-Arts structure to house his collection.
Evelyn Yaari of the Friends of the Barnes Foundation, a local group that filed two lawsuits challenging the judge's decision allowing the foundation to move to Center City.
A gallery in the old Barnes (Cezanne's The Card Players is at center) illustrates Barnes's unique method of hanging his collection.
Paul Philippe Cret designed this Beaux-Arts limestone building, completed in 1925, to house Barnes's collection in Merion, Pa.
This rendering of the new Barnes depicts the distinctive light canopy that runs across the top of the building.
Derek Gillman, the Barnes Foundation's director and president, helped oversee the selection of Williams and Tsien to design the new building.
A rendering of the new Barnes showing the new building's central court, with its hand-chiseled limestone slabs and a carpet of wood salvaged from the old Coney Island boardwalk.
A rendering of the new Barnes showing a garden included in the processional entrance to the building.