IE University

On Friday, IE University named Martha Thorne as dean of its Madrid and Segovia, Spain–based School of Architecture and Design. Before the appointment, Thorne had been the school’s associate dean for external relations.

Since 2005, Thorne has served on the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury as the executive director. Prior to that, she was the associate curator of the architecture department at The Art Institute of Chicago from 1996 to 2005. She has also edited several books, including The Pritzker Architecture Prize: The First Twenty Years by Amery Colin (Harry N. Abrams: 1999), and written articles for architecture journals and encyclopedias.

“Martha Thorne’s commitment to international architectural education and her expertise in the global architecture market have made her a reference worldwide within the industry,” said IE University president Santiago Iñiguez in a press release. Notable faculty include Verda Alexander and Primo Orpilla, Studio O+A cofounders and principals, and Jeremy Myerson, director of the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design and the Helen Hamlyn Chair of Design at the Royal College of Art, London.