Thomas Vonier of AIA Continental Europe.

Note: This is a breaking news story that will be updated as new information is available.

Today, the AIA announced the winners of the campaigns for its national offices, following the elections held at the Institute's convention in Atlanta on May 14–16. Thomas Vonier, FAIA, will take over as AIA vice president under 2016 president Russell Davidson, FAIA's term. Vonier will then become president in 2017. He founded AIA Continental Europe and served as its past president from 1994 to 1995. He also served on the AIA Board of Directors representing the AIA International Region from 2010 to 2012. In his speech at the convention, Vonier talked about the need to expand the influence and demand for architecture, and to move the profession to the forefront of public issues. Vonier defeated Don Brown, FAIA (AIA Montgomery/AIA Alabama) and Stephen Fiskum, FAIA (AIA Minneapolis/AIA Minnesota) in the race for 2016 first vice president / 2017 president-elect.

Stuart Coppedge of AIA Colorado.

Stuart Coppedge, AIA, will become the Institute's secretary in 2016. The Colorado architect ran unopposed in the race. In a speech at the convention, Coppedge talked about the importance of assessing the fiscal success of AIA initiatives such as the "I Look Up" public awareness campaign and the Institute's new revenue model.

Jennifer Workman, AIA; Jane Frederick, FAIA; and Anthony Schirripa, FAIA, were elected by delegates at the convention to take over in newly-created positions that were established with the restructuring of the national board. In addition to those three seats, three at-large directors will be elected by AIA's Strategic Council. All six newly elected at-large directors will serve three-year staggered terms beginning upon the adjournment of the annual meeting of the board in December 2015. The AIA president may select a maximum of two individuals to serve as directors.