Project Detail

 

Finger | Kennedy Apartment

Brooklyn, NY United States

Noroof Architects

 

Project Description

2011 RADA

Renovation / Merit

“Where’s the fat in this project?” one of our judges asked of this apartment renovation. “There isn’t any.” Who could argue with that? The design team reorganized the existing dumbbell-shaped 510-square-foot apartment, moving the kitchen and bath from the back and deftly inserting them into the narrow middle zone. Two skylights and artificial illumination in a light cove make the space feel bright and airy despite the size, but the pièce de résistance of the project is the clever storage solutions in the floor and walls of the unit, which help create living and sleeping zones. “It’s a lot of nice renovation within a shell,” another judge said approvingly.

 

Project Details

Finger | Kennedy Apartment
Location:
Shared by:
 
Firm Name:
Consultants:
  • General Contractor: Ilyas Yakubov 
  • Design Team: Margarita McGrath, Scott Oliver, T.J. Stratton, John Andrews 
  • Architect of Record: Ken Hudes 
  • Photography: Chuck Choi 
 
Project Scope:
Project Type:
Room Or Space:
Project Status:
Project Size:
    510
 
 

Specified Products

Bathroom and Kitchen Fixtures: Hansgrohe, www.hansgrohe-usa.com; Cooktop and Oven: Viking, www.vikingrange.com; Dishwasher: Bosch, www.bosch-home.com; Hardware: Arthur Harris & Co., www.ahchicago.com, Häfele American Co., www.hafele.com/us, Johnson Hardware, www.johnsonhardware.com, Rixson, www.rixson.com, Valli & Valli, www.vallivalli-us.com; Hvac Equipment: Mitsubishi, www.mehvac.com, Nuheat, www.nuheat.com; Insulation: Owens Corning, www.owenscorning.com; Kitchen Fixtures: Blanco America, www.blancoamerica.com; Lighting Fixtures: Elite Lighting USA, www.iuseelite.com, Juno Lighting Group, www.junolightinggroup.com, Lightolier, www.lightolier.com; Paints/Stains/Wall Finishes: Applied Technologies, www.appliedtechnologies.com, Basic Coatings, www.basiccoatings.com, Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.com; refrigerator: Jenn-Air, www.jennair.com; Windows: Loewen, www.loewen.com

 
 

Comments

Please read our Content Guidelines before posting.

Similar Projects

  • Lizer dream home

    Dike, Iowa, United States

    Struxture Architects - Jesse Lizer, AIA

  • IndyMod One

    Indianapolis, Indiana, United States

    Axis Architecture

  • CITY COTTAGE

    Indianapolis, Indiana, United States

    ONE 10 STUDIO Architects

 

Other Mid-Atlantic Projects