The following is a press release announcing the winners of the Architectural Education Awards given by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2018-2019 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Read about the winning submissions below, and be sure to join us in celebrating the winners in Pittsburgh at the 107th ACSA Annual Meeting.

ACSA/American Institute of Architects (AIA) Topaz Medallion
Toshiko Mori, Harvard University

ACSA Distinguished Professor Award
Thomas Barrie, North Carolina State University
Thomas Fisher, University of Minnesota
Patricia Belton Oliver, University of Houston
Andres Mignucci, Universidad De Puerto Rico
Stephen D. Schreiber, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

ACSA Creative Achievement Award
Paola Zellner-Bassett, Virginia Tech
30x30. A digital exhibit celebrating the 30th anniversary of the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA)

ACSA Collaborative Practice Award
John E. Folan, Carnegie Mellon University & Urban Design Build Studio
Home Re_Considered : Home Re_Defined
Ann Yoachim, Nick Jenisch, & Emilie Taylor Welty, Tulane University
Albert and Tina Small Center for Collaborative Design
María Arquero de Alarcón & Ana Paula Pimentel Walker, University of Michigan
Young, Informal and Sustainable: Devising Urban Strategies for Young Informal Land Occupations
Edna Ledesma, University of Texas at Austin
Empowerment by Design: Brownsville West Rail Corridor Study

ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching Award
Ming Hu, University of Maryland
Nikole Bouchard, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Joseph Godlewski, Syracuse University

ACSA Faculty Design Award
Andrew Kudless, California College of the Arts
Confluence Park
Jose Sanchez, University of Southern California
Neyran Turan, University of California, Berkeley
Nine Islands: Matters Around Architecture
Rafael Beneytez-Duran & Ophelia Mantz, Texas Tech University
TB House
ACSA Faculty Design Award Honorable Mentions:
Tsz Yan Ng, Asa Peller, & Wes McGee, University of Michigan
Robotic Needle Felting
McLain Clutter & Cyrus Penarroyo, University of Michigan
Image Matters

ACSA Diversity Achievement Award
Sandra Vivanco, California College of the Arts
Katherine Ambroziak, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Irene Cheng, California College of the Arts

ACSA Design-Build Award
Will Koning & Rick Sommerfeld, University of Colorado Denver
ROMO Backcountry Privies
Mary C. Hardin, University of Arizona
Sentinel House
Coleman Coker, University of Texas at Austin
Outdoor Pavilion for Environmental Education
Jason Griffiths, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
The Baxa Scholars Cabin

ACSA/AIA Housing Design Education Award
Mary C. Hardin, University of Arizona
Energy Conserving Affordable Housing
Stephen D. Luoni & Shawna Hammon, University of Arkansas
Saving Downtown Public Housing: Towards a Blended-Income Community
Gregory Marinic, University of Kentucky
What Would Jane Do?

ACSA/AIA Practice & Leadership Award
Elizabeth Martin-Malikian, Kennesaw State University

JAE Best Article Award
Design as Scholarship
Patent Scenarios for the Mississippi River
by Richard L. Hindle

Scholarship of Design
The Legibility of Environment: Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum (1968-1976)
by Elizabeth M. Keslacy