Atherton Library in Atherton, Calif., by WRNS Studio
Bruce Damonte Atherton Library in Atherton, Calif., by WRNS Studio

Today, The American Institute of Architects has named the five winners of its 2023 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards. Distributed in partnership with the American Library Association, the annual award honors "the best in library architecture and design" given that "libraries are more than learning centers—they’re also enduring examples of architectural excellence," according to an AIA awards description.

The jury for the 2023 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards comprised chair Dianne Chia, AIA, Pfeiffer, New York; Stacy Bourne, FAIA, The Bourne Group, USVI; Michael Crumpton, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, Greensboro, N.C.; Clem Guthro, University of Hawai'i at Manoa, Honolulu; and David Powell, FAIA, Hastings Architecture, Nashville, Tenn.

The Winning Projects

Lara Swimmer

Student Success District, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz., designed by The Miller Hull Partnership and Poster Mirto McDonald

Cory Klein

Louisville Free Public Library Northeast Regional Library, Louisville, Ky., designed by MSR Design and JRA Architects

Lara Swimmer

Missoula Public Library New Main Library, Missoula, Mont., designed by MSR Design and A&E Design

Bruce Damonte

Atherton Library, Atherton, Calif., designed by WRNS Studio

Robert Benson

Woburn Public Library, Woburn, Mass., designed by CBT

See more winners of the 2023 AIA Awards here.