Courtesy Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum

Several notable architects have been recognized with a National Design Award, the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum announced today. The awards program, created in 2000, seeks to "promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world."

The recipients of the 2017 National Design Awards are: Boston and Kigali, Rwanda–based MASS Design Group (Architecture Design); New York City–based Deborah Berke Partners (Interior Design); San Francisco–based Surfacedesign (Landscape Architecture); Hartmut Esslinger, an industrial designer and founder of Frog Design (Lifetime Achievement); architect Craig Wilkins (Design Mind); New York nonprofit Design Trust for Public Space (Corporate & Institutional Achievement); Metropolis publisher and editor-in-chief Susan S. Szenasy, Hon. AIANYC (Director’s Award); Jennifer Morla, the president and creative director of San Francisco–based Morla Design (Communication Design); New York City–based Slow and Steady Wins the Race (Fashion Design); San Francisco–based Stamen Design (Interaction Design); and Joe Doucet, the president and chief creative officer of New York City– and London-based studio Joe Doucet x Partners (Product Design).

The jury comprised: Jeevak Badve, a vice president at Sundberg-Ferar; Rafael de Cárdenas, the founder of Rafael de Cárdenas / Architecture at Large; Ray Huff, FAIA, the director of the Clemson Architecture Center; Randy Hunt, the vice president of design at Etsy; Mia Lehrer, a landscape urbanist and the president of Mia Lehrer + Associates; Lisa Perry, a fashion designer and founder of Lisa Perry Style; Sandy Speicher, a partner and the managing director of education at IDEO; Lisa Strausfeld, principal of InformationArt; and Robert Wong, the vice president of Google's Creative Lab.