Directors Sharon Johnston, FAIA, and Mark Lee of Los Angeles–based Johnston Marklee have selected more than 100 firms and artists to participate in the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial. The second iteration of the Biennial—"Make New History"— will focus on how architects "align their work with versions of history," according to a statement.

Johnston Marklee at Chicago Architecture Biennial Press Conference
Courtesy of the Chicago Architecture Biennial Johnston Marklee at Chicago Architecture Biennial Press Conference

From September 16, 2017 through January 7, 2018, participants representing more than 20 countries will showcase their own take on the future of architecture at the Chicago Cultural Center. “Through presenting a variety of work, we aim to give visitors of all in-depth look at architecture as we know it today, and the chance to be inspired by how architecture is making new history in cities around the world,” said Todd Palmer, executive director of the Chicago Architecture Biennial in a press release.

James Welling. Courtesy of the Chicago Architecure Biennial

The second edition of the Biennial is an result of the success from the first Chicago Architecture Biennial, which more than 530,000 visitors attended—the largest international architecture exhibition in North America—with 62 firms participating.

“We hope to examine, through the work of the chosen participants, the continuous engagement with questions of history and architecture as an evolutionary practice," Johnston said in the press release. Both directors hope the pieces showcased will initiate the public to engage in conversations about "state and government regulations, social conventions, and markers of personhood," according to the press release.

The featured firms include:

51N4E (Brussels, Belgium; Tirana, Albania) 6A Architects (London, UK)
Ábalos+Sentkiewicz (Madrid, Spain; Cambridge, USA; Shanghai, China)
Adamo-Faiden (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
AGENdA agencia de arquitectura (Medellin, Colombia)
Aires Mateus (Lisbon, Portugal)
Ana Prvački and SO-IL (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Andrew Kovacs (Los Angeles, USA)
Angela Deuber Architect (Chur, Switzerland)
Ania Jaworska (Chicago, USA)
Aranda\Lasch and Terrol Dew Johnson (New York, USA; Tucson, USA)
Archi-Union (Shanghai, China)
Architecten de Vylder Vinck Taillieu (Ghent, Belgium)
Arno Brandlhuber and Christopher Roth (Berlin, Germany)
Atelier Manferdini (Venice, USA)
AWP office for territorial reconfiguration (Paris, France; London, UK)
Bak Gordon Arquitectos (Lisbon, Portugal)
Barbas Lopes (Lisbon, Portugal)
Barkow Leibinger (Berlin, Germany)
baukuh (Milan, Italy)
Besler & Sons LLC (Los Angeles, USA)
BLESS (Berlin, Germany)
Caruso St John (London, UK)
Charlap Hyman & Herrero (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Charles Waldheim (Cambridge, USA)
Christ & Gantenbein (Basel, Switzerland)
Daniel Everett (Chicago, USA; Salt Lake City, USA)
David Schalliol (Chicago, USA)
Dellekamp Arquitectos (Mexico City, Mexico)
Design With Company (Chicago, USA)
Diego Arraigada Arquitectos (Rosario, Argentina)
DOGMA (Brussels, Belgium)
DRDH (London, UK)
ENSAMBLE STUDIO (Madrid, Spain; Boston, USA)
Éric Lapierre Architecture (Paris, France)
Estudio Barozzi Veiga (Barcelona, Spain)
fala atelier (Porto, Portugal)
Filip Dujardin (Ghent, Belgium)
Fiona Connor and Erin Besler (Los Angeles, USA; Auckland, New Zealand)
First Office (Los Angeles, USA)
formlessfinder (New York, USA)
Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico)
Gerard and Kelly (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Go Hasegawa (Tokyo, Japan)
HHF Architects (Basel, Switzerland)
Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (Chicago, USA)
J. MAYER H. und Partner, Architekten and Philip Ursprung (Berlin, Germany)
James Welling (New York, USA)
Jesús Vassallo (Houston, USA)
Jorge Otero-Pailos (New York, USA)
June14 Meyer-Grohbrügge & Chermayeff (New York, USA; Berlin, Germany)
Karamuk * Kuo Architects (New York, USA; Zurich, Switzerland)
Keith Krumwiede (New York, USA)
Kéré Architecture (Berlin, Germany)
Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)
Luisa Lambri (Milan, Italy)
Lütjens Padmanabhan Architekten (Zurich, Switzerland)
Made In (Geneva, Switzerland; Zurich, Switzerland)
MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)
Marianne Mueller (Zurich, Switzerland)
Marshall Brown (Chicago, USA)
MG&Co. (Houston, USA)
MONADNOCK (Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
MOS (New York, USA)
Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA; New York, USA)
Nuno brandåo costa arquitectos Ida (Porto, Portugal)
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium)
PASCAL FLAMMER (Zurich, Switzerland)
Patrick Braouezec (Paris, France)
Paul Andersen and Paul Preissner (Chicago, USA; Denver, USA)
Pezo Von Ellrichshausen (Concepción, Chile)
Philipp Schaerer (Zurich, Switzerland)
PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico)
REAL Foundation (London, UK)
Robert Somol (Chicago, USA)
SADAR+VUGA (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Sam Jacob Studio (London, UK)
SAMI-arquitectos (Setubal, Portugal)
SANAA (Tokyo, Japan)
Sauter von Moos (Basel, Switzerland)
Sergison Bates (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
Serie Architects (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
Stan Allen Architect (New York, USA)
Studio Anne Holtrop (Muharraq, Bahrain; Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Studiomumbai (Mumbai, India)
Sylvia Lavin (Los Angeles, USA)
T+E+A+M (Ann Arbor, USA)
Tatiana Bilbao Estudio (Mexico City, Mexico)
Tham & Videgård Arkitekter (Stockholm, Sweden)
The Empire (Verona, Italy)
The Living (New York, USA)
The Los Angeles Design Group (Los Angeles, USA)
Thomas Baecker Bettina Kraus (Berlin, Germany)
Tigerman McCurry Architects (Chicago, USA)
Toshiko Mori Architect (New York, USA)
UrbanLab (Chicago, USA; Los Angeles, USA)
Urbanus (Shenzhen, China; Beijing, China)
Veronika Kellndorfer (Berlin, Germany)
Work Architecture Company (New York, USA)
Zago Architecture (Los Angeles, USA)
ZAO/standardarchitecture (Shanghai, China)