Flickr user Sean Davis via a Creative Commons license

Today, the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) revealed the list of 13 architectural programs that it has accepted for participation in its Integrated Path Initiative to allow students to begin the licensure process as a part of the academic curriculum. Each selected school, accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), developed a proposal to restructure its academic program to allow students the opportunity to complete Intern Development Program requirements and take each division of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) before graduation. 

NCARB established a new committee to guide the selected schools in the implementation process, as well as to work with the state registration boards and jurisdictions to ensure that laws and regulations are in place to grant pre-graduation access to the ARE.  Each school will implement the restructured program according to the unique schedule established with its administration and faculty.

Last year, 32 schools responded to NCARB's Request for Interest and Information, indicating their intent to develop formal proposals, which NCARB reviewed this June.

Schools not accepted this year can resubmit proposals next year. NCARB plans to solicit participation on an annual basis.

The full list of selected schools:

Boston Architectural College, Boston

Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.

Drexel University, Philadelphia

Lawrence Technological University, Southfield, Mich.

NewSchool of Architecture & Design, San Diego

North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.

Portland State University, Portland, Ore.

Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, Ga.

University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati

University of Detroit Mercy, Detroit

University of North Carolina-Charlotte; Charlotte, N.C.

University of Southern California; Los Angeles

Woodbury University; Los Angeles