This is our running list of candidates who have thrown their hats in the ring for elected national positions with the American Institute of Architects. We will update the list as news breaks and more AIA members announce bids to run.

Last year, former AIA president Thomas Vonier, FAIA, issued a call to action to his fellow AIA members. "Run for AIA National office," he wrote in an article for ARCHITECT. "Such involvement is essential to the well-being of the Institute. It is also very rewarding. As elected officials, we learn what motivates our profession. We take on thorny issues and challenging problems. We identify opportunities. We stake out meaningful positions and sharpen our views. We seek to win the confidence of our peers and interlocutors. We work to stimulate global demand for our work and to improve the basis for our practices."

So far, six AIA members from six regions across the U.S. have heeded this call, declaring their candidacy for 2019-2020 secretary, 2019-2021 at-large director, or 2019 first vice president/2020 president-elect. AIA members have until March 9 at 5 p.m. to declare their intent to run and winners will be announced at the 2018 AIA Conference on Architecture that will take place in New York from June 21 to 23.

As Vonier put it, "So why not you? Run for national office!"

See the complete list of candidates below:

2019-2020 Secretary
Jason Winters, AIA, founding principal of Kezlo Group (AIA Chesapeake Bay/AIA Maryland)

2019-2021 At-Large Director (one will be elected)
Jessica Sheridan, AIA, senior associate at Mancini Duffy (AIA New York Chapter/AIA New York)
Rob E. Walker IV, AIA, principal at Rob Walker Architects (AIA Birmingham/AIA Alabama)
James Wright, FAIA, senior principal at Page Southerland Page (AIA Washington DC),

2019 First Vice President/2020 President-Elect
L. Jane Frederick, FAIA, founding principal at Frederick + Frederick Architects (AIA South Carolina)
William Carpenter, FAIA, founder and president of Lightroom (AIA Atlanta/AIA Georgia),