Colin Lenton

Today the American Institute of Architects announced that San Francisco–based firm Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects has won the highest honor that the Institute gives to a firm each year, the AIA Architecture Firm Award.

Led by Marsha Maytum, FAIA, William Leddy, FAIA, and Richard Stacy, FAIA (left to right in the photo above), the firm describes itself as “a teaching practice committed to developing complete, well-rounded architects, leaders in the profession and effective global citizens.” The firm ranked #37 in the 2016 ARCHITECT 50, and has consistently ranked among the Top 50 firms each year since 2011.

In his letter of support for the firm’s nomination, BNIM principal emeritus Bob Berkebile, FAIA Emeritus, wrote, “Their passion for addressing some of the profession’s thorniest issues including regenerative design, universal access, social equity and housing for the most disadvantaged has been consistent and impressive.”

Sweetwater Spectrum, Sonoma, CA

Architects - Leddy Maytum Stacy
Tim Griffith Sweetwater Spectrum Community
Tim Griffith Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation

The firm’s work has earned accolades at the local and national level. In AIA San Francisco’s 2016 Design Awards, the firm received recognition for three Bay Area projects: North Beach Branch Library, 474 Natoma, and Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation. Several of the firm's projects have made the AIA Committee on the Environment's annual Top Ten list over the years, including the Sweetwater Spectrum Community in Sonoma, Calif.; the Merritt Crossing Senior Apartments in Oakland, Calif.; and the Homer Science & Student Life Center in Atherton, Calif.

Last year, the AIA Firm Award was bestowed on LMN Architects, a Seattle firm founded by George Loschky, FAIA, Jud Marquardt, FAIA, and John Nesholm, FAIA. Culver City, Calif.–based Ehrlich Architects won the award in 2015 and New Orleans practice Eskew+Dumez+Ripple won in 2014. The Institute kicked off the annual program in 1962 with the recognition of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, and to date 54 firms, including today's recipient, have received the award. Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects will be officially recognized at the AIA Convention 2017 in Orlando in late April.

Bruce Damonte North Beach Branch Library

The 2017 Architecture Firm Award jury: chair Stephen Maher, AIA, a managing partner of Ritter Maher Architects in Baton Rouge, La.; Rena Klein, FAIA, the principal of RM Klein Consulting in Albuquerque, N.M.; Philip Laird, AIA, the president of Architectural Resources Cambridge in Boston; Thomas Luebke, FAIA, the secretary of the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts in Washington, D.C.; Cesar Pelli, FAIA, a senior principal of Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects, in New Haven, Conn., which won the 1989 Architecture Firm Award under its former name, Cesar Pelli & Associates; Jonathan Penndorf, AIA, a senior associate in the Washington, D.C., office of Perkins + Will, which won the 1999 Architecture Firm Award; Pamela Sams, AIA, a southeast design realization leader in the Washington, D.C., office of Gensler, which won the 2000 Architecture Firm Award; and Jennifer A. Yoos, FAIA, CEO and principal of Minneapolis-based VJAA, which won the 2012 Architecture Firm Award.

Read ARCHITECT's past coverage of the AIA Architecture Firm Award as well as the other winners in the the 2017 AIA Honor Awards. For more information about Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects, check out the firm’s profile in ARCHITECT's Project Gallery.