Pentagram/courtesy The Architectural League of New York

The following is a Dec. 1 press release from the Architectural League of New York announcing a call for entries to its 2023 League Prize Competition.

The Architectural League of New York has announced “Uncomfortable” as the competition theme for the 42nd annual Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. The League Prize is an annual, anonymous portfolio competition open to architects and designers based in North America who are ten years or less out of a bachelor’s or master’s degree program. It is one of the most prestigious design awards for young practitioners.

Responding to the “age of the Uncomfortable,” the theme statement asks entrants “to demonstrate how they find comfort within the unconventional, discover opportunity within crisis, and use the Uncomfortable as a design tool.”

The Young Architects + Designers Committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, develops the competition theme and selects the jury. The members of this year’s Committee are Jose Amozurrutia, Germane Barnes, and Jennifer Bonner. The competition jury will include Barbara Bestor, Wonne Ickx, Kyle Miller, and Tya Winn, along with the members of the Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The League Prize is organized by The Architectural League’s program director Anne Rieselbach and program manager Rafi Lehmann.

Submissions are due by 11:59 p.m. EST on Wednesday, February 15, 2023.

For more information on this year’s theme, eligibility requirements, and the submission process, please contact program manager Rafi Lehmann at [email protected] or visit