The American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced this year's seven winners of the institute's Healthcare Design Awards on Monday. Awarded across four categories based on scope and status, the winning projects are located in six different states—Arkansas, Washington, Missouri, California, Illinois, and Wisconsin—as well as Uganda.

The jury comprised chair Gregory Wieland, AIA, Altus Studios; Tama Duffy Day, Gensler; Rick del Monte, FAIA, The Beck Group; Robin Guenther, FAIA, Perkins+Will; John Kouletsis, AIA, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan; Joan L. Suchomel, AIA, Eckenhoff Saunders Architects (Suchomel has since joined CannonDesign); and Stephen Yablon, AIA, Stephen Yablon Architecture.

Category A - Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Courtesy Timothy Hursley

Harvey Pediatric Clinic in Rogers, Ark. by Marlon Blackwell Architects

Sean Airhart

Neighborcare Health, Meridian Center for Health, Seattle by NBBJ

Category B - Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

James Steinkamp Photography

Mercy Virtual Care Center, Chesterfield, Mo. by Forum Studio

Christopher Barrett

UC San Diego Health, Jacobs Medical Center, San Diego, Calif. by CannonDesign

Category C - Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space.

Courtesy Craig Dugan Photography

Advocate Lutheran General Hospital Cardiac Catheterization Suite, Park Ridge, Ill. by Philips Design and Anderson Mikos Architects

Courtesy Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Bayshore Dental, Whitefish Bay, Wisc. by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Category D - Unbuilt: must be commissioned for compensation by a client with the authority and intention to build.

Courtesy Kliment Halsband Architects

Mount Sinai Ambulatory Surgical Facility, Kyabirwa, Uganda by Kliment Halsband Architects