The American Institute of Architects announced today that the Enterprise Rose Architectural Fellowship and Lawrence Scarpa, FAIA, are the 2017 recipients of the Collaborative Achievement Award. This award “recognizes and encourages distinguished achievements of allied professionals, clients, organizations, architect teams, knowledge communities, and others who have had a beneficial influence on or advanced the architectural profession.”

The Enterprise Rose Architectural Fellowship, established by affordable housing and community development organization Enterprise Community Partners, is a three-year position that pairs early-career designers with 75 local community development organizations to promote sustainable and affordable building and planning. Since the program’s inception in 2000, 69 fellows have “created or preserved more than 12,000 affordable homes across the country.”

Lawrence Scarpa
Lawrence Scarpa

Lawrence Scarpa is credited with co-founding sustainable and affordable community policy and development nonprofit Livable Places in 2001 as well as the Los Angeles A+D Architecture and Design Museum which hosts an annual exhibition and symposium to promote exemplary work from California design students. Most recently, Scarpa collaborated with city planner Maurice Cox, FAIA, to create the Affordable Housing Design Leadership Institute which is administered by Enterprise. In 200, the duo assembled leaders in affordable housing for two days of charrette sessions on best practices and innovation in the field. Enterprise, where Scarpa is an advisory board member, has continued these annual summits and has “enabled 60 nonprofits and community groups throughout the country better their communities.”

The jury for the 2017 Collaborative Achievement Award included: chair Illya Azaroff, AIA, of New York-based +LAB architects; Hans Butzer, AIA, of Oaklahoma City-based Butzer Architects and Urbanism; Damian Farrell, FAIA, of Damian Farrell Design Group in Ann Arbor, Mich.; Jared Edgar Mcknight, Assoc. AIA, of WRT Design in Philadelphia and San Francisco; Lynn M. Perkins, AIA, of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Both award recipients will be honored at the 2017 AIA Conference on Architecture in Orlando, Fl.