Following the recent news that the American Institute of Architects (AIA) will not be awarding a 2018 Twenty-Five Year Award, the Institute announced today the 17 winners in this year's Institute Honor Awards, which are divided into three categories: architecture, interior architecture, and regional and urban design. Nine projects were selected in the architecture category, slightly less winners than last year but still the largest category in the awards program. The Institute Honor Awards for Architecture recognize projects completed after Jan. 1, 2011, that embody the "best contemporary architecture regardless of budget, size, style, or type."

This year's jury was comprised of chair Lee Becker, FAIA, Hartman-Cox Architects in Washington, D.C.; Anne Marie Decker, FAIA, Duvall Decker Architects in Jackson, Miss.; Susan Johnson, AIA, Strata Architecture + Preservation in Kansas City, Mo.; Anna Jones, Assoc. AIA, MOD Design in Des Moines, Iowa; Caitlin Kessler, AIAS student representative from the University of Arizona; Merilee Meacock, AIA, KSS Architects in Princeton, N.J.; Robert Miller, FAIA, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson in Seattle; Sharon Prince, Grace Farms Foundation in New Canaan, Conn.; and Rob Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners in New York.

View ARCHITECT's coverage of the 2018 AIA Honor Awards.