Last week, the American Institute of Architects San Francisco (AIASF) announced the winners of the 2018 Design Awards at a ceremony held at the San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center's Herbst Theatre. Each year for nearly 50 years, the program has recognized "outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Bay Area individuals and organizations," according to an AIASF press release.

“AIASF received over 200 submissions, featuring a wide spectrum of projects from across the globe,” said AIASF executive director Jennifer Jones in another press release. “Each project is uniquely innovative and inspiring; it is an honor for our chapter to recognize and celebrate the creative work of our talented local design community.”

This year, AIASF recognized 13 projects in the architecture category (three honor awards, six merit awards, and four citations) and four projects in the interior architecture category (three merit awards and one citation). Additionally, two other projects received special commendation. The jury also chose to acknowledge projects that demonstrated "the values of good design within the context of historic preservation and social responsibility," according to the same press release.

The 2018 Design Awards jury took place in Boston. The jurors comprised Jeffry Burchard, AIA, principal at Boston-based architecture and urban design firm Machado Silvetti; Jean Carroon, FAIA, principal at Goody Clancy, an architecture, planning, and preservation firm based in Boston; Alex Diaz, a designer at Boston- and New York–based architecture and urban design firm NADAAA; Sara Elsa-Beech AIA, an architect at Baker Design Group in Boston; and Bre'Anna Romulus, Assoc. AIA, of architecture, urban design, and real estate development firm Dream Collaborative.

Architecture Category

Honor Awards

Bruce Damonte Photography

388 Fulton in San Francisco
David Baker Architects

Matthew Millman

Glen Ellen Aerie in Glen Ellen, Calif.
Aidlin Darling Design

Mathew Millman

Sentinel Ridge in St. Helena, Calif.
Field Architecture

Merit Awards

Matthew Millman

Big Ranch Road in Napa, Calif.
William Duff Architects

Mariko Reed/OTTO

Five88 in San Francisco
David Baker Architects

Matthew Millman

Kalihiwai Pavilion in Hawaii
Walker Warner Architects

Bruce Damonte

Mylla in Oslo
Mork Ulnes Architects

Jim Bartsch

SBCAST in Santa Barbara, Calif.
Macy Architecture

Bruce Damonte

UCSB, San Joaquin Apartments and Precinct Improvements in Goleta, Calif.
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Citation Awards

Bruce Damonte

San Francisco Art Institute at Fort Mason Center in San Francisco
Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

Bernard Andre Photography

Bloomfield Artist's Studio & Garage in Sonoma, Calif.
Levy Design Partners

Celso Rojas

Sonoma Academy Guild & Commons in Sonoma, Calif.
WRNS Studio

Scott Hargis, David Livingston, and Cesar Rubio

The Pacific in San Francisco
Handel Architects

Special Commendation

David Wakely and Drew Kelly

270 Brannan St. in San Francicso
Pfau Long Architecture and Meyer + Silberberg Landscape Architects

Bruce Damonte

Washington Square Convenience Station in San Francisco
Paulett Taggart Architects

Interior Architecture Category

Merit Awards

Billy Hustace

Alcatraz Photography Studio in Berkeley, Calif.
Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects

Amit Geron

Basix Headquarters in Hod HaSharon, Israel
Axelrod Design

Alanna Hale and Adam Rouse

Hacienda at Scribe Winery in Sonoma, Calif.
Aidlin Darling Design

Citation Awards

Matthew Millman

The Italian Swiss Colony Building Lobby in San Francisco
Jones | Haydu