“The global spread of good design starts to show itself first in the house,” said a juror for our ninth annual residential architect Design Awards. Judging by our collection of winners this year, our future buildings will not disappoint.

For this competition, we received a staggering 1,300-plus entries. With such numbers, there was much beauty cast aside in the search for something greater. Just 36 projects earned a spot in this final group, making RADA the most competitive residential architecture awards program in the country. The jury comprised six accomplished architects, including Louise Braverman, FAIA, Louise Braverman, Architect, New York City; Ralph Cunningham, AIA, Cunningham + Quill Architects, Washington, D.C.; Allison Ewing, AIA, LEED AP, Hays + Ewing Design Studio, Charlottesville, Va.; Paul Mankins, FAIA, LEED AP, substance, Des Moines, Iowa; Joeb Moore, AIA, Kaehler/Moore Architects, Greenwich, Conn.; and James G. Thomas, AIA, Thomas and Denzinger Architects, Charleston, S.C. In all, they bestowed one Judges' award, 18 Merit awards, 16 Grand awards, and one Project of the Year.

What distinguished the winners from such an already outstanding collection of competitors? “It was that next level of authenticity,” said the jury. “They had freshness and originality that transcended the dogma of architectural language.”

Read about the 2008 RADA winners.