Ed Massery The Frick Environmental Center in Pittsburgh, designed by Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

On Monday, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the 10 winners of the 2018 AIA's Education Facility Design Awards, which are granted by the AIA's Committee on Architecture for Education. There are two categories of winners in the program—Awards of Excellence and Awards of Merit—and the number of each are determined by the jury. Last year, the AIA recognized 12 projects, with five awards of excellence and seven awards of merit; this year, the institute gave out eight awards of excellence and two awards of merit.

The jury for the 2018 awards was comprised of chair David Van Galen, AIA of Integrus Architecture in Seattle; Linsey Graff, Assoc. AIA, of Ayers Saint Gross in Tempe, Ariz.; Wendy Rogers, FAIA, of LPA in Irvine, Calif.; and Judy Hoskens of Cuningham Group in Minneapolis.

Awards of Excellence

Chatham University Eden Hall Campus in Richland Township, Pa.

Lara Swimmer

Haverford College Visual Culture, Arts, and Media Building in Haverford, Pa.
MSR Design

Tom Arban

Kawartha Trades and Technology Centre in Peterborough, Ontario
Perkins+Will Canada

Memphis Teacher Residency in Memphis, Tenn.

Robert Benson

Pagliuca Harvard Life Lab at Harvard University in Allston, Mass.
Shepley Bulfinch

Denmarsh Photography

The Frick Environmental Center in Pittsburgh
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

© Iwan Baan

Tsinghua Ocean Center in Shenzhen, China
Open Architecture

Tim Griffith

Voxman Music Building at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa
LMN Architects

Awards of Merit

Benjamin Benschneider

Arlington Elementary School in Tacoma, Wash.
Mahlum Architects

Hank Mardukas Photography

Ballet Memphis in Memphis, Tenn.

Visit ARCHITECT's Project Gallery for more information about the present and past winners of the AIA Education Facility Design Awards.