This year's crop of winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, announced today, includes two projects in Bangladesh, one in Beijing, another in Beirut, and one each in Copenhagen, Denmark, and Tehran, Iran. The awards are given out every three years, and recognize projects in locations that have substantial Muslim populations. The six 2016 winners were selected from 19 shortlisted projects announced in May of this year.

The 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Winners

AKTC/Sandro di Carlo Darsa

Bait Ur Rouf Mosque, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Marina Tabassum Architects

AKTC/Eric Chenal

Friendship Centre, Gaibandha, Bangladesh
Kashef Chowdhury/Urbana

AKTC/ZAO/standardarchitecture, Su Shengliang

Hutong Children’s Library & Art Centre, Beijing

AKTC/Cemal Emden

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, Beirut
Zaha Hadid Architects


Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG)

AKTC/Mohammad Hassan Ettefagh

Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge, Tehran, Iran
Diba Tensile Architecture

For more information about the winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, visit ARCHITECT's Project Gallery.