Today, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the recipients of the 2017 AIA/HUD Secretary Awards, an annual program presented with the the Office of the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Awards are given out in four categories; this year, there were recipients in only three of the four categories (there was no recipient of the Housing Accessibility—Alan J. Rothman Award).

The jury comprised: jury chair Katherine Williams, AIA, Fifth Generation Holdings; Joe Digrado, AIA, Danielian Associates; Blake Held, AIA, Blake H. Held Architect; Charles Mudede, The Stranger; David Perkes, AIA, Mississippi State University GCCDS; and Danielle Arigoni and Rachelle Levitt, HUD.

Excellence in Affordable Housing Design Award

Douglas Sterling Photography and Dahlin Group Architectural Planning

Monteverde Senior Apartments
Hayward, Calif.
Dahlin Group Architecture Planning

Creating Community Connection Award

William Wright Photography

Plaza Roberto Maestas
7 Directions Architects and Planners, Third Place Design Co-operative

Community-Informed Design Award

Flance Early Learning Center

Flance Early Learning Center
St. Louis
Trivers Associates

View more information and images about present and past winners of the AIA/HUD Secretary Awards in ARCHITECT's Project Gallery.