The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) (the association which represents close to 400 electrical, medical imaging, and radiation therapy manufacturers) has elected Michael Pessina, co-CEO and president of Lutron Electronics, as chairman of its 2017 Board of Governors. The announcement was made during the association’s 90th Annual Membership Meeting, which took place Nov 16-17, 2016 in Cleveland. The other officers on the Board of Directors are Immediate Past Chairwoman Maryrose Sylvester of Current, powered by GE, and First Vice Chair and Treasurer David Nord of Hubbell Incorporated.

Pessina has spent his professional career at Lutron and been with the company for more than 35 years. In that time, he has had several leadership roles including vice president of manufacturing operations, general manager of the Grafik Systems business unit, and executive vice president. Pessina was appointed president of Lutron in 2011. He is also a certified senior quality engineer and a member of Lutron’s Board of Directors and Advisory Council.

“We are very appreciative of Maryrose’s visionary leadership over the last year, and we anticipate continued success with Mike Pessina,” said NEMA President and CEO Kevin J. Cosgriff in a prepared statement. “He has decades of experience and leadership in the industry, and we look forward to accelerating progress with his guidance.”

In addition to the other two officers on the Board of Directors (Sylvester and Nord), eight members of the electronics industry were appointed to serve three-year terms on the Board of Governors, ending in 2019. The eight individuals are: Raj Batra of Siemens Industry, Annette Kay Clayton of Schneider Electric, Theodore Crandall of Rockwell Automation, Amy Huntington of Philips Lighting, Daniel Jones of Encore Wire Corporation, Philip Mezey of Itron, Inc., Andrew Quinn of ILSCO Corporation, and Mark Wingate of MVC-Maxivolt.