Each year, the P/A Awards jury comprises five leading members of the design community, selected by the editorial staff. The chosen individuals may not have previously served on this jury but are also not required to have won a P/A Award in the past (though many have). Each juror brings a unique background and set of expectations to the process, the goal being to bring together a diverse group of individuals who will influence the decision-making process in their own distinct ways.

Hadrian Predock and his partner John Frane started Predock_Frane Architects in 2001. The collaborative research-and-development design studio explores site specificity, oppositions, and environmental intelligence, among other themes. Named one of 10 emerging international architects by Architectural Record in 2002, and one of six emerging firms in North America by the Architectural League of New York, the practice's work appeared in the United States pavilion at the 2004 Venice Biennale and as part of the 2006 Cooper-Hewitt Design Triennial. Predock received a master's in architecture from the Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1993.

54th Annual P/A Awards

Karen Fairbanks is a founding partner of Marble Fairbanks, an architecture, design, and research office in New York City, and professor of professional practice and chair of the architecture department at Barnard College. Marble Fairbanks has received many design awards, including AIA awards, American Architecture Awards, and a P/A Award. Fairbanks and her partner, Scott Marble, were the Charles and Ray Eames lecturers at the University of Michigan in 2004, and their recent publication, Marble Fairbanks: Bootstrapping, was published on the occasion of that event.

Giuseppe Lignano and partner Ada Tolla founded New York City design studio LOT-EK in 1993 and have since created of a variety of residential, commercial, and institutional projects in the United States and abroad. LOT-EK's work has also included exhibition designs and site-specific installations for the Museum of Modern Art and the Whitney Museum of Art. Lignano received a master's in architecture and urban design from the Universita di Napoli in 1989 and completed further postgraduate studies at Columbia University, where he now teaches at the Graduate School of Architecture.

Jose M. Castillo is a founding partner of arquitectura 911sc, an independent practice in Mexico City. Castillo has lectured at various institutions in Mexico and the United States and was a visiting professor at the Tulane University School of Architecture in spring 2006. Castillo has been a fellow of Harvard University's David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies and also of the Mexican National Council for Science and Technology. Currently a fellow in Mexico's National System of Artists, Castillo also holds a doctorate in architecture and urban planning from the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

Yung Ho Chang is a professor and head of the architecture department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has also been a professor and was the founding head of the Graduate Center for Architecture at Peking University in China. He received a master's of architecture at the University of California at Berkeley in 1984 and has received numerous design awards, including a P/A Awards Citation, a UNESCO Prize for the Promotion of the Arts, and the Academy Award in Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2006. In 1993, he founded Atelier Feichang Jianzhu in Beijing, China's first private architecture firm, and still practices out of the firm's Boston office.