The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced 22 recipients of its 2019 Young Architects Award, which "honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the architecture profession early in their careers," according to a press release.

Any AIA member that has been licensed for fewer than 10 years is eligible for the award. The 2019 jury comprised chair Raymond "Skipper" Post, FAIA, of Post Architects; Edward Vance, FAIA, of EV&A Architects; Peter Kuttner, FAIA, of Cambridge Seven Associates; John Castellana, FAIA, of TMP Architecture; Roger Schluntz, FAIA, of the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque; and Lora Teagarden, AIA, of Ratio Architects.

This year's winners are:

Line and Space

Mike Anglin, AIA
Line and Space

SCAD and Sottile & Sottile

Craig Clements, AIA
Sottile & Sottile

Rebecca Wright Multimedia

Cynthia Fishman, AIA
The Biomimicry Design Alliance

Uche Iroegbu Photography

James Garrett Jr., AIA


Julie Hiromoto, AIA
HKS Architects

Jeff Dow Photography

Nathaniel Hudson, AIA
FormGrey Studio

Brandon Dill

Jason Jackson, AIA
brg3s Architects

Courtesy Michael Kothke

Michael Kothke, AIA
HK Associates Architecture

Courtesy Ashlie Latiolais

Ashlie Latiolais, AIA

Courtesy Erica LiBritiz

Erica LiBritz, AIA
CetraRuddy Architecture

Courtesy SOM

Frank Mahan, AIA
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Courtesy CannonDesign

Allison Méndez, AIA

Courtesy Patricia Opitz

Patricia Opitz, AIA
Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects

Kai L. Brown

Oswaldo Ortega, AIA

Courtesy Eric Robert

Eric Roberts, AIA
SH Architecture

Joyce Edmonston

Barton Ross, AIA
Barton Ross & Partners Architects

Courtesy Payette

Wesley Schwartz, AIA

Kickstand Studio

Asheley St. John, AIA
1x1 Design

Courtesy Jessica Terrill

Jessica Terrill, AIA
Substance Architecture

Jeff Wagner

Jeff Wagner, AIA
[N]Site Studios

Courtesy Benjamin Ward

Benjamin Ward, AIA
Curtis Group Architects

John Seyfrield

Adam Yaracs, AIA
Perspectus Architecture

Click here to see the winners of the 2018 AIA Young Architects Award.