The American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the 2018 winners in the three Institute Honor Awards categories today: architecture, interior architecture, and regional and urban design. The jury picked three winners in the latter category, which "recognizes the best in urban design, regional and city planning, and community development." Projects for the 2018 program needed to be either largely underway or, if completed, done after Jan. 1, 2011. (Last year five projects won recognition in this category.)

The jury was comprised of chair Roger Schluntz, FAIA, School of Architecture and Planning, University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, N.M.; Lisa Chronister, AIA, City of Oklahoma City Planning Department; Suzanne DiGeronimo, FAIA, DiGeronimo Architects in New York City and Paramus, N.J.; Tim Griffin, AIA, Minnesota Design Center in Minneapolis; and Gerry Tierney, AIA, Perkins+Will in San Francisco.

View ARCHITECT's coverage of the 2018 AIA Honor Awards.