Iwan Baan Maggie's Centre Barts by Steven Holl Architects

Divided into four categories based on scope and scale, the seven winners of the 2018 AIA/AAH Healthcare Design Awards span four U.S. states and London. The annual awards program, presented by the American Institute of Architects' (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health, recognizes healthcare projects both built and unbuilt. "Projects exhibit conceptual strengths that solve aesthetic, civic, urban, and social concerns as well as the requisite functional and sustainability concerns of a hospital," according to AIA's website.

The jury comprised chair David King, FAIA, SmithGroupJJR in Los Angeles; Tom Clark, FAIA, Clark/Kjos Architects in Portland, Ore.; Lari Diaz, AIA, KMD Architects in San Francisco; Walter Jones Jr., AIA, the MetroHealth System in Cleveland; Patricia Malick, Array Architects in Conshohocken, Pa.; Paul Mankins, FAIA, Substance Architecture in Des Moines, Iowa; and David Ruthven, AIA, Philips Design in Cambridge, Mass.

Category A: Built (less than $25 million)

Cameron Campbell at Integrated Studio

Story County Medical Center Outpatient Unit Expansion in Nevada, Iowa
INVISION Architecture

Iwan Baan

Maggie's Centre Barts in London
Steven Holl Architects

Category B: Built (more than $25 million)

Steve Babuljak

Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford in Palo Alto, Calif.
Perkins+Will and HGA Architects and Engineers

Halkin Mason Photography

Memorial Sloan Kettering Monmouth in Monmouth, New Jersey

John Edward Linden Photography

Cedars-Sinai Advanced Health Sciences Pavilion in Los Angeles

Category C: Renovations/Remodels

Tim Griffith

Cedars-Sinai, Playa Vista Physician Office & Urgent Care in Los Angeles
ZGF Architects

Category D: Unbuilt

Ankrom Moisan Architects

Central City Concern Eastside Health & Recovery Center in Portland, Ore.
Ankrom Moisan Architects

Visit ARCHITECT's Project Gallery for more information about present and past winners of the AIA/AAH Healthcare Design Awards.