This story was originally published in Architectural Lighting.

Lance Bennett
Courtesy IES Lance Bennett

The Illuminating Engineering Society (IES) has announced the election of Lance Bennett as the next President of the Society for the 2018–19 term. As of July 1, Bennett takes the reigns from Cheryl English, who served as President for the 2017–18 term.

Bennett has been a mainstay in the lighting industry for more than 30 years, carving out his career with Cooper Lighting, now part of Eaton’s Lighting Business. In his present role with Eaton, Bennett oversees global sales of all specification products for the U.S. based lighting division. Previously, at Cooper Lighting, Bennett held several positions, and was the area vice president in the U.S. prior to Cooper’s acquisition.

Trained as an engineer, Bennett is an active member of the lighting community, working with both the IES as well as the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) Lighting Industry Resource Council. He has also served as a board member for the IALD’s Education Trust.

Other architecture and lighting industry involvement include his representation of Eaton as a corporate member of the United States Green Building Council and as an American Institute of Architects Cornerstone Partner. He also serves on the board of the International Landscape Lighting Institute.

In a prepared statement Bennett said, “I am honored and humbled to be serving your Society in this capacity. There has never been a better time to be a member of this Society. With all the changes within the lighting field, [the] IES provides the whole lighting industry a place to share research and knowledge that yields the standards and best practices the industry counts on, while providing a sense of community through the many technical and non-technical committees and the over 100 local sections.”

Bennett will work with the 2018-19 Board of Directors, whose makeup for the coming term is as follows: Jennifer Jaques, President-Elect, Lighting Application Sciences; Cheryl English, Past President, Acuity Brands; and James Radi, Treasurer, Shat-R-Shield.

The At-Large Directors are: Susanne Seitinger, Philips Lighting; Antonio Garza, Iluminacion Total; Naomi Miller, Pacific Northwest Laboratory; Wilson Dau, Dau Design and Consulting; Frank Agraz, Frank Agraz, Osram Lighting Solution, North America; and Francois-Xavier Morin, Leviton.

The Regional Directors are: Billy Tubb, University of New Mexico (South Region); Michelle (Shelly) Prew, Eaton Lighting (Midwest Region); Antonio Giacobbe, Form Lighting and Controls (West Region); and Rick Paradis, Synergy Investment (Northeast Region).

Founded in 1906, the IES “is the oldest and largest educational and scientific society in North America devoted to lighting.” For more information about the IES and its various programs and initiatives, go to

To read more stories like this, visit Architectural Lighting.