Dr. Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA
Le Studio Dr. Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA

The following is a Jan. 27 press release from the Washington, D.C.–based Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture announcing the recipients of its 2023 Architectural Education Awards. You can read more about Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA, the winner of the 2023 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion, here.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) announces the recipients of the 2023 Architectural Education Awards, which honor architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. The award-winning professors inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academia into practice and the public sector.

This year’s recipients are:

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion
Awarded to an individual who has had significant impact upon architectural education and the discipline and practice of architecture.

Dr. Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA | Parsons School of Design

Distinguished Professor Award
Recognizes individuals that have had a positive, stimulating, and nurturing influence upon students.

Linda N. Groat | University of MichiganKent Kleinman | Brown University
Thomas Leslie | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign/Iowa State University
Joanna Lombard | University of Miami
Peter MacKeith | University of Arkansas

AIAS/ACSA New Faculty Teaching Award
Recognizes demonstrated excellence and innovation in teaching performance during the formative years of an architectural teaching career.

Part-Time Faculty
Evan Shieh | New York Institute of Technology/Parsons School of Design

Full-Time Faculty
Shawn Bailey | University of Manitoba
César A. Lopez | University of New Mexico

Full-Time Faculty Honorable Mention
Zahra Safaverdi | Texas Tech University

Diversity Achievement Award
Recognizes the work of faculty, administrators, or students in creating effective methods and models to achieve greater diversity in curricula, school personnel, and student bodies, specifically to incorporate the participation and contributions of historically under-represented groups or contexts.

Design as a Tool to Develop Social Agency: Proyecto Volcadero
Milagros Zingoni | University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Oriana Gil Perez | Arizona State University
Oriana Venti & Sonia Garcia | Universidad de Oriente

Diversity Achievement Award Honorable MentionBuilding Equality(ies) in Architecture North – BEA(N)
Shannon Bassett | Laurentian University

Diversity Achievement Award Honorable MentionDrawing Out Stories – Building Up Diversity
Dr. Jill Bambury, MRAIC | University of Hartford

Creative Achievement Award
Recognizes a specific creative achievement in teaching, design, scholarship, research, or service that advances architectural education.

Site, Matter, Ecology, and Indigenous Storywork
Adrian Phiffer | University of Toronto

Reenvisioning Everyday Architecture: Experiments in Visual Mapping and Hybrid Media
Aki Ishida | Virginia Tech

Subjective Waters
Curry Hackett | University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Collaborative Practice Award
Established in 1997 by Thomas Dutton and Anthony Schuman to recognize ACSA’s commitment to community partnerships in which faculty, students and neighborhood citizens are valued equally and that aim to address issues of social injustice through design.

Deconstructing Blight
John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)

Five Points Alley: Crafting Community Through Full-Scale Prototyping
Terry Boling | University of Cincinnati

The Power of Place and Social Production: building a sustainable community through design and technology in Westside Neighborhood – English Avenue
Julie Ju-Youn Kim | Georgia Institute of Technology

Environmental Justice at Bayview-Hunters Point
Margaret Ikeda & Evan Jones | California College of the Arts (CCA)

Faculty Design Award
Recognizes work that advances the reflective nature of practice and teaching by recognizing and encouraging creative design and design investigation in architecture and related environmental design fields and by promoting work that expands the boundaries of design through, for example but not limited to, formal investigations, innovative design process, addressing justice, working with communities, advancing sustainable practices, fostering resilience, and/or centering the human experience.

Four Dioramas
Neyran Turan | University of California, Berkeley

John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)

CloudHouse Shade Pavilion
Iman Fayyad | Syracuse University

Faculty Design Award Honorable MentionThe Bronzeville Action Coalition: A Model for a Distributed Urban Commons
Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts (CCA)
César A. Lopez | University of New Mexico

Design-Build Award
Honors the best practices in school-based design-build projects.

Stadium Rowhouses: Macro to Micro
Mary Hardin | University of Arizona

Omaha Mobile Stage
Jeffrey L. Day, FAIA | University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Circular Chromatics: Biomaterial Invention through Research-Build
Kyle Schumann | University of Virginia

The LivingRoom: A prototype outdoor classroom and learning garden
Hans Herrmann, Cory Gallo, Abbey Wallace & Suzanne Powney | Mississippi State University

AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership Award
Recognizes “best practice” examples of highly effective teaching, scholarship, and outreach in the areas of professional practice and leadership.

Clipper Academy: ARCH517
Douglas Noble & Karen Kensek | University of Southern California

AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education Award
Recognizes the importance of good education in housing design to produce architects ready for practice in a wide range of areas and able to be capable leaders and contributors to their communities.

Housing America: Architecture’s Social Agenda at the Center of Pedagogy
Tricia Stuth, Ted Shelton, Clayton Adkisson & William Rosenthal | University of Tennessee-Knoxville

AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education Award Honorable MentionThe New Attainable House
Jeffrey L. Day, FAIA & Frank Ordia | University of Nebraska-Lincoln

JAE Article Awards
The Journal of Architectural Education (JAE) Award was instituted in 1985 and is now given annually for outstanding peer-reviewed articles published in the Essay, Design, Narrative, and Image categories during the preceding academic year.

Essay AwardA ‘Holding Place’: An Indigenous Typology to Mediate Hospital Care
Janet McGaw, Alasdair Vance & Uncle Herb Patten | University of Melbourne

Design Essay AwardEquity & Dignity by Design: Co-creating Guidelines with Planned Parenthood Affiliate Health Centers
Deborah Richards & Angela M. Person | University of Oklahoma

Narrative AwardReframing Stories: A Woman and Her Building at the Dawn of the Mexican Revolution
Tania Gutiérrez-Monroy | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

TAD Research Contribution Award
Recognizes outstanding peer-reviewed research published in the Technology | Architecture + Design Journal.

Article from Volume V
On GANs, NLP and Architecture: Combining Human and Machine Intelligences for the Generation and Evaluation of Meaningful Designs
Jeffrey Huang, Mikhael Johanes, Frederick Chando Kim, Christina Doumpioti & Georg-Christoph Holz Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL)