The Florida chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the latest winners of its annual Florida/Caribbean Honor & Design Awards during its convention and trade show in July. The 2018 awards recognize firms from 11 Florida cities and Puerto Rico for design excellence and their contributions to the architecture profession.

The jury members, all based in London, were Jonathan Rose, principal of design and planning at AECOM; Brian Eckersley, a senior director at Eckersley O'Callaghan; Jamie Fobert, director at Jamie Fobert Architects; and Sanya Polescuk, founder of Sanya Polescuk Architects. The four-person jury presented design awards in eight categories: the Award of Excellence for Renovations and Additions; the Award of Excellence for Historic Preservation and Restoration; the Award of Excellence for Interiors; the Award of Excellence for New Work; the Award for Unbuilt Design; the Theoretical and Research Design Award; the Award for Masonry in Design; and the Test of Time Award. An object, practitioners, and firms were also recognized in an additional 10 honor awards.

Within the design awards, winning projects were recognized with both merit and honor awards. This year’s program recognized 15 projects with honor awards, including work by Sarasota, Fla.–based Seibert Architects, Destin, Fla.–based DAG Architects, and San Juan, Puerto Rico–based Díaz Paunetto Arquitectos. Check out the projects recognized with a design honor award below. A full list of winners is available on AIA Florida’s website.

Award of Excellence: Renovations & Additions

Courtesy Architects Lewis + Whitlock

Kotler-Coville Glass Pavilion at the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art in Sarasota
Architects Lewis + Whitlock

Ryan Gamma

Hudson House in Treasure Island, Fla.
Seibert Architects

Courtesy DAG Architects

Bo Diddley Plaza Renovation in Gainesville, Fla.
DAG Architects

Award of Excellence: Historic Preservation & Restoration

Ryan Gamma

House Tranquillo in Sarasota
Seibert Architects

Award of Excellence: Interiors

Bill Speer

Donnelly Condo in Siesta Key, Fla.
Halflants + Pichette

Emilio Collavino

530 Lincoln Road in Miami Beach, Fla.
Shulman + Associates

Award of Excellence: New Work

Courtesy Elliott Marshall Innes Architects

School of Arts and Sciences in Tallahassee
EMI Architects

Michael Stavaridis

Warehouse Complex in Miami
Chandler and Associates, Architecture

Bill Speer

Guberman-Kennedy Residence in Venice, Fla.
Halflants + Pichette

RiMo Photographics

Bay Pines STEM Center in St. Petersburg, Fla.
Rowe Architects

Award for Unbuilt Design

Courtesy Diaz Paunetto Arquitectos

Bayamon Infill Housing in Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Díaz Paunetto Arquitectos

The New St. Pete Pier in St. Petersburg
ASD|SKY and Rogers Partners

Courtesy Birse/Thomas Architects

South Florida Community Land Trust Affordable Infill in Deerfield Beach, Fla.
Birse Thomas Architects

Award for Masonry in Design

Courtesy DAG Architects

Bo Diddley Plaza Renovation in Gainesville
DAG Architects

Theoretical and Research Design Award

A Debt to the Havana's Rooftops in HavanaManuel Alvarino, Assoc. AIA, University of South Florida School of Architecture and Community Design

Courtesy HKS Architects

Restoring Light Memorial in Orlando, Fla.
Daniella Covate, Vanessa Marin, Assoc. AIA, Mattheus da Silveira, Intl. Assoc. AIA, Nathan Wallace, Assoc. AIA, Claudia Cintas, Zachary Greco, AIA, and Stephen Szutenbach, AIA, Orlando

This article has been updated.