The Bush School New Upper School, by Mithun, in Seattle.
Lara Swimmer The Bush School New Upper School, by Mithun, in Seattle.

The following is a Nov. 8 press release from the American Institute of Architects Seattle, which announced the winners of its 2022 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture.

Last night, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Seattle hosted the 72nd annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design. The distinguished jury included Billie Faircloth FAIA, LEED AP BD+C (KieranTimberlake), Ghazal Khezri (LOHA), and Kimberly Garza ASLA, PLA LEED AP (Atlas Lab), with Ken Tadashi Oshima (UW College of Built Environments) as moderator.

From 100 submissions, the jury chose 15 award winners from three categories – Built, Conceptual, and Research & Innovation. This was the fifth year of the Research & Innovation category, recognizing strides in research and innovation coming out of our region, elevating our communities’ awareness of advancement in architectural practice. This was the seventh year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber.

Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented in our region and were so impressed with the “high level of design excellence in projects that delight, inspire and enrich their communities all while having a positive impact on the environment.” In addition to the main juried awards, it was the fifth year of the Young Voices Selection (YVS), a program with the aim to engage and elevate the voices of young designers through direct participation and representation in AIA Seattle’s Honor Awards for Washington Architecture. The three YVS panelists, Alyss Mitchell Assoc. AIA, NOMA (Weber Thompson), Mariel Dougoud (Perkins&Will), and Nikki Sugihara Assoc. AIA (Wittman Estes), selected 1 Built project as the Young Voices Selection award winner.

Visit the Online Gallery to learn more about the projects, as well as project team and collaborator information. A recording of the show at Town Hall can also be viewed on YouTube.

Award of Honor:
Mini Mart City Park (MMCP) by GO’C is a new arts-oriented community center in Georgetown. The project, which sits directly across from Boeing Field, has transformed a former gas station site into a Seattle hub for art events and community gatherings. The jury commended the team for creating an architecture that amplifies community and ecological agency.

Phinney Mini by Best Practice Architecture is a remodel and micro-addition to an existing 1907 16-and-a-half-foot-wide two-story farmhouse. This project shows how a building can be adapted to new times, prioritizing quality over quantity – more by doing less – something that the jury greatly appreciated.

The Bush School New Upper School by Mithun is a building inserts itself into a tight urban campus site adjacent to the school’s original facility, historic Gracemont Hall. This symbiotic connection creates a unique narrative between generations of learning spaces built a century apart that are woven into a common educational alignment. Most importantly for the jury, it defines a new visible edge of the campus to inspire broader change in the community.

Energy in Design Award:
The Bush School New Upper School by Mithun was also the recipient of the Energy in Design Award. It is a modest-scale building that features a wide array of indoor and connected outdoor learning and social spaces that amplify the Bush School curriculum while honoring site ecology and campus context. The jury also greatly appreciated the use of extensive passive strategies to reduce the load on renewable energy sources.

Award of Merit:
A Workplace That Resonates | NBBJ
Ballard Food Bank | Graham Baba Architects
Columbia City Abbey Apartments | allied8
The Hive | Integrus Architecture
Heartwood Mass Timber/Steel Hybrid Workforce Housing | atelierjones
ReHOME: Resilience + Regeneration | Coates Design
The Roost | Neiman Taber Architects
Student Success District, University of Arizona | The Miller Hull Partnership

Honorable Mention:
Alma Clark Glass Hall | Mahlum Architects
Byrd Barr Place | SHKS Architects
Juanita Beach Park Bathhouse | EHDD Architecture

Young Voices Selection:
Living Watershed | Weber Thompson