Today, the Pritzker Architecture Prize appointed Barry Bergdoll and Deborah Berke, FAIA, as the newest members of the Pritzker Prize Jury. Their appointment comes as Richard Rogers, Hon. FAIA, and Ratan N. Tata depart the jury after serving five and six years, respectively.

Courtesy Pritzker Prize

"The jury is pleased indeed to add two new members, Deborah Berke and Barry Bergdoll,” said Stephen Breyer, chair of the Pritzker Prize Jury. “Together they bring to the jury experience in architectural practice, education, and history. Their presence will help us keep abreast of both historical and contemporary challenges that architecture is facing. Their broad knowledge of the field and their experienced judgment will prove invaluable.”

Before his appointment to the jury, Bergdoll served as the Museum of Modern Art's Philip Johnson chief curator of architecture and design from 2007 to 2014, and the as a Meyer Schapiro pProfessor of aArt hHistory and aArchaeology at Columbia University. Bergdoll has also been recognized internationally for his contributions and analysis of modern architecture and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects, and an honorary fellow of the American Institute of Architects, New York, among other honors.

In addition to practicing at her New York City-based firm, Deborah Berke Partners, Berke also serves as the dean of the Yale School of Architecture. Her firm is renowned for projects such as the Marianne Boesky Gallery in New York, the Yale School of Art in New Haven, Conn, the 21c Museum Hotel, Louisville in Louisville, Ken., and the Rockefeller Arts Center at SUNY Fredonia in Fredonia, N.Y. Among other international leadership positions, Berke also serves as a board member of the James Howell Foundation and an honorary trustee of the Norman Foster Foundation.

Bergdoll and Berke will join the current Pritzker jury made up of Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice; André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to India in Delhi, India; Kazuyo Sejima, architect, educator and 2010 Pritzker Laureate, from Tokyo; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue in Barcelona; and Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate from Hangzhou, China.

The laureate of the 2020 Pritzker Prize, the 42nd iteration of the annual award, will beis announced in the spring.