Justice Stephen Breyer
Steve Petteway/Collection of the Supreme Court of the United States Justice Stephen Breyer

A U.S. Supreme Court justice now chairs the jury for architecture's most prestigious prize: Justice Stephen Breyer, who has been a member of the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury since 2011, will take over as chair for the upcoming award season following the retirement of current chair Glenn Murcutt, Hon. FAIA, the Australian architect and 2002 Pritzker Laureate.

Breyer's “devotion to civic-minded architecture underscores the mission of the Prize and his unparalleled ability to guide a group deliberation is essential in creating a unified voice within this diverse and international panel of jurors," said Tom Pritzker, the chairman and president of the prize's sponsor, the Hyatt Foundation, in a press release.

Peter Palumbo, chairman emeritus of the trustees of the Serpentine Galleries and former chairman of the Arts Council of Great Britain, London, has also retired from the jury. He was the jury's chair from 2005 to 2016.

The jury for the 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize is currently comprised of Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court Justice in Washington, D.C.; André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian ambassador to Japan in Tokyo; Richard Rogers, Hon. FAIA, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate in London; Kazuyo Sejima, architect and 2010 Pritzker Laureate in Tokyo; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and educator in Barcelona, Spain; Ratan N. Tata, chairman of Tata Trusts in Mumbai; Wang Shu, architect and 2012 Pritzker Laureate in Hangzhou, China; and Martha Thorne, executive director of the Pritzker Prize and dean of the IE School of Architecture & Design in Madrid.