Brian MacKay-Lyons.
Brian MacKay-Lyons.

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) announced on Monday that Brian MacKay-Lyons, Hon. FAIA, has been awarded this year's Gold Medal, which is the most prestigious award from the Institute.

MacKay-Lyons founded Halifax, Nova Scotia–based firm Brian MacKay-Lyons Architecture Urban Design in 1985, which later became MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects as it is known today. The firm's Howard House and Ghost Architectural Laboratory each won an AIA Honor Award, in 2003 and 2012 respectively.

Howard House.
James Steeves/MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Howard House.

He holds a B.Arch from the Technical University of Nova Scotia and Master of Architecture and Urban Design from the University of California, Los Angeles, and was named an honorary member of the AIA College of Fellows in 2001.

The jury for the 2015 RAIC Gold Medal included: Perkins+Will managing director Peter Busby, Intl. Assoc. AIA, who won the 2014 RAIC Gold Medal; RAIC past president Paule Boutin, Hon. AIA; Tyler Sharp, the winner of RAIC's 2014 Young Architect Award; Siamak Hariri, Intl. Assoc. AIA, founding partner of Toronto-based Hariri Pontarini Architects; and Martin Houle, founder of the website Kollectif. The Gold Medal award ceremony is scheduled for the RAIC/AAA Festival of Architecture in June.

Sliding House.
Greg Richardson/MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Sliding House.
Two Hulls House.
Greg Richardson/MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Two Hulls House.

For more information on projects by MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, visit ARCHITECT Project Gallery.