The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the shortlist of projects that will vie for this year's Stirling Prize. The annual award is "given to the architect of the building thought to be the most significant of the year for the evolution of architecture and the built environment in the United Kingdom," RIBA said in a press release.

In the same release, RIBA president Ben Derbyshire noted that "each of the projects on this year’s shortlist shows the power and payback of investing in quality architecture, illustrating perfectly how well-designed buildings are worth every penny and can exceed the expectations of the community they serve."

The projects on the shortlist will be "judged against a range of criteria including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction," according to the institute's website. Last year's winner (of both the Stirling Prize and the people's vote) was Hastings Pier, designed by London-based dRMM Architects. RIBA will announce the 2018 Stirling Prize winner on Oct. 10.

The Shortlist:

Nigel Young

Bloomberg, London in London
Foster + Partners

Lewis Kahn

Bushey Cemetery in Bushey, England
Waugh Thistleton Architects

Nick Kane

Chadwick Hall in London
Henley Halebrown

Hufton + Crow

New Tate St. Ives in St. Ives, England
Jamie Fobart Architects with Evans & Shalev

Alan Williams

Storey's Field Centre and Eddington Nursery in Cambridge, EnglandMUMA

Nick Kane

The Sultan Nazrin Shah Centre in Oxford, England
Niall McLaughlin Architects