On May 16, 2008, during the annual convention in Boston, The American Institute of Architects (AIA) inducted 116 members into its College of Fellows, an honor accorded to those who have made significant contributions to architecture and achieved a standard of excellence.

Fewer than 2,650 AIA members have been elevated to fellow, the organization says. The honor is bestowed to AIA members of 10 years or more who have contributed to the profession and to society in one of five nomination categories:

1) Promoted the profession's aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency;

2) Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training, and practice;

3) Coordinated the building industry and the architecture profession through leadership in AIA and other professional organizations;

4) Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment;

5) Made the profession of ever-increasing importance to society.

2008 Fellows practicing residential architecture include:

Diana Agrest, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

Giancarlo Alhadeff, FAIA, AIA Continental Europe

Ian Bader, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

Gary Balog, FAIA, AIA Eastern Ohio

Deborah Berke, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

Obie Bowman, FAIA, AIA Redwood Empire

Louise Braverman, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

Carol Burns, FAIA, Boston Society of Architects/AIA

John Carney Jr., FAIA, AIA Wyoming

Craig Curtis, FAIA, AIA Seattle

Michael Folonis, FAIA, AIA Los Angeles

David Hertz, FAIA, AIA Los Angeles

Kenneth Hobgood, FAIA, AIA North Carolina

Michael Imber, FAIA, AIA San Antonio

Jon Jackson, FAIA, AIA Pittsburgh

Mary Johnston, FAIA, AIA Seattle

Byron Kuth, FAIA, AIA San Francisco

William Lecky, FAIA, AIA Northern Virginia

Heather McKinney, FAIA, AIA Austin

Prescott Muir, FAIA, AIA Utah

Robert Orr Jr., FAIA, AIA Connecticut

Michael Palladion, FAIA, AIA Los Angeles

Robert Rogers, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

Allan Shulman, FAIA, AIA Miami

Richard Stacy, FAIA, AIA San Francisco

Maryann Thompson, FAIA, Boston Society of Architects/AIA

Bernard Tschumi, FAIA, AIA New York Chapter

2008 Honorary Fellows practicing residential architecture include:

David Adjaye, England

Stefan Behnisch, Germany

Javier Sanchez-Corral, Mexico

Gabriel Fagan, South Africa

Bernardo Gomez-Pimienta, Mexico

Brigitte Shim, Canada

Nithi Sthapitanonda, Thailand

Howard Sutcliffe, Canada

Download the complete list of 2008 Fellows and Honorary Fellows here and here. The number accompanying each fellow's name indicates the category for which he or she is being honored.