Today, American Institute of Architects announced the winners of the campaigns for three of its national offices—first vice president/president-elect who will serve as the 2016 AIA president, vice president, and secretary—for the 2015 to 2016 term, following voting by delegates attending the Institute’s 2014 national convention in Chicago.

Russell A. Davidson, FAIA, president and managing principal at KG&D Architects in Mount Kisco, N.Y., will become the 2015 AIA first vice president/president-elect and, subsequently, the 2016 AIA president. Earlier this month, Davidson spoke with ARCHITECT about his hopes for making the Institute more relevant to the public. “I still feel passionately about elevating public awareness issues—that’s the reason I originally got involved and it's exciting that this is starting to happen now at the national level,” he said.

In addition to his 28-year tenure at KG&D, Davidson was the 1999 president of the AIA's Westchester Mid-Hudson chapter and the 2007 president of Institute's New York State chapter. He joined the AIA’s National Board in 2009 and served as its vice president from 2012 to 2013. Davidson holds an M.Arch. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, N.Y. He beat out challengers Don Brown, FAIA, from the AIA's Montgomery chapter, and Gabriel Durand-Hollis, FAIA, representing AIA San Antonio.

William J. Bates, AIA, and Francis M. Pitts, FAIA, will serve as vice presidents for the 2015 to 2016 term. John A. Padilla, AIA, was elected to the post of AIA secretary for the same period.