The American Institute of Architects announced this year's recipients of the AIA Institute Honors for Collaborative and Professional Achievement, which recognizes people and organizations that have influenced the industry. This year the award went to the Lyceum Fellowship and Transsolar KlimaEngineering.

Founded in 1985, the Lyceum Fellowship provides travel grants for architecture students. Submissions for the 30th iteration of the program are due in March, and the subject this year, "Rejuvenation," tasks students with imagining a design solution for an aging population on the site of the Empire State Building.

Stuttgart, Germany-based climate engineering firm Transsolar KlimaEngineering describes itself as a firm "whose scope is to ensure the highest possible comfort in the built environment with the lowest possible impact on the environment." The firm's work includes the SANAA-designed Glass Center for the Toledo Museum of Art and several projects at Loyola University Chicago with Chicago architecture firm Solomon Cordwell Buenz. The firm also offers climate engineering fellowships through its Transsolar Academy.

The jury for the Collaborative Achievement Award included chair Donald King, FAIA, of DKA Architecture; Hiroshi Jacobs, AIA, a designer at Studios Architecture; Michael Pyatok, FAIA, a principal at Pyatok Architects; David Trevino, FAIA, of the City of Dallas; and Karen E. Williams, AIA, an architect at PIVOT Architecture.

The number of awards handed out in this category varies each year. Last year, the institute recognized four recipients: the ACE Mentor Program, the National Building Museum, the Post-Sandy Initiative, and Rick Smith.