Rural Ortho Clinic by Johnsen Schmaling Architects
John J. Macaulay Rural Ortho Clinic by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

The American Institute of Architects Academy of Architecture for Health has revealed the winners of its 2022 Healthcare Design Awards. The honors “showcase the best of healthcare building design, healthcare planning, and healthcare design-oriented research,” according to the AIA website.

Selected by a six-person jury, this year’s winners include seven projects across four categories: built projects with a construction cost under $25 million; built projects with a construction cost above $25 million; renovated or remodeled projects; and unbuilt projects. All awardees incorporate sustainability principles while addressing "aesthetic, civic, urban, and social problems," an AIA press release states.

The jury for the 2022 Healthcare Design Awards comprised chair Mara Baum, FAIA, Dialog Architects in San Francisco; Ellen Bailey Dickson, FAIA, Bailey Edward in Chicago; Susan Chin, FAIA, DesignConnects in New York; Gary Hamilton, WSP in New York; Yen Ong, AIA, 5G Studio Collaborative in Dallas; and Ellen Taylor, AIA, The Center for Health Design in New York.

The Winners:

Category A: Construction Cost Under $25 Million

John J. Macaulay

Rural Ortho Clinic, in Ceaderburg, Wis., by Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Category B: Construction Cost Above $25 Million

Robert Benson Photography

Center for Health & Wellbeing, in Winter Park, Fla., by Duda|Paine Architects

Category C: Renovation or Remodeling

Robert Benson Photography

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, in Chestnut Hill, Mass., by Payette

Benjamin Benschneider

UCSF Connie Frank Transplant Center, in San Francisco, by NBBJ

Category D: Unbuilt


Kyabirwa Surgical Center Ward, in Jinja, Uganda, by GKG


Montage Health Ohana Center, in Monterey, Calif., by NBBJ


Uganda Women’s and Children’s Clinic, in Mityana, Uganda, by LS3P

Read more: Chapel of St. Ignatius in Seattle was honored with AIA's 2022 Twenty-Five Year Award. | AIA selected 11 international projects as the recipients of its 2022 Architecture Awards.